.

VMWARE Network Settings For Pentest Lab Help ?

<<

skorpinok

Newbie
Newbie

Posts: 36

Joined: Thu Jun 14, 2012 9:48 am

Post Sun Jul 22, 2012 9:24 am

VMWARE Network Settings For Pentest Lab Help ?

Hello,
          I have Backtrack 5R2, Windows XP & Metasploitable-2  inside the VMWARE Workstation, i need Backtrack machine to communicate with other two vm's & download updates,surf internet, so what will be the network setup in this case ? please suggest me..


Regards.
<<

jjwinter

User avatar

Jr. Member
Jr. Member

Posts: 80

Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2012 10:33 pm

Post Sun Jul 22, 2012 9:29 am

Re: VMWARE Network Settings For Pentest Lab Help ?

In my little lab my BT5 VM is bridged. Bridge your other VM's and they should all see each other, and whatever other machines are on the same network as your host.
<<

RoleReversal

User avatar

Hero Member
Hero Member

Posts: 928

Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2008 8:54 am

Location: UK

Post Sun Jul 22, 2012 10:13 am

Re: VMWARE Network Settings For Pentest Lab Help ?

Bridging should work, but beware that this now means your virtual environment is now connected to your LAN. Any attacks, malware, etc that you unleash could hit your production systems and beyond.

This can get particular interesting if you're experimenting with layer2 attacks for the first time, not that I have first hand experience of course...... *whistles*

It's a little dated and doesn't still match my current setup (I need to spend more time in the lab), but I covered my VMWare network set-up some time ago. Hopefully it will help give you some ideas/pointers.

[blog post] Virtual Lab Network
<<

cyber.spirit

User avatar

Sr. Member
Sr. Member

Posts: 356

Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2012 8:07 am

Location: in your heart!

Post Sun Jul 22, 2012 9:11 pm

Re: VMWARE Network Settings For Pentest Lab Help ?

if u have vmware 8 just create a host only network and uncheck the dhcp option then go to network and sharing center right click on ur lan or wlan which is connected to internet in sharing tab click on allow other networks user to connect ..... And click ok and u must use the host only adapter for all of ur vms thats all enjoy
ICS Academy Network Security Certified

Return to Network Pen Testing

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron
.
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group.
Designed by ST Software