PLC's / Control Networks Info

<<

SamoletMaj

Post Mon Jun 25, 2012 2:24 pm

PLC's / Control Networks Info

Hello there Gents...

I am new to the business and i am looking to gain some knowledge specifically about exploiting PLC's and industrial control networks, i am a PLC programmer in the control systems industry and i have been tasked with identifying/exploiting vulnerabilities in our control systems.

I have already discovered several problems mainly dealing with UDP communication protocols.

I want to dig deeper and focus on two things, Buffer overflows on PLC's and exploits regarding crafting EIP/CIP messages. (Ethernet/IP)

What books/reading in general would you recommend? Any suggestions are welcome

Thanks!
<<

cd1zz

Recruiters
Recruiters

Post Mon Jun 25, 2012 4:03 pm

Re: PLC's / Control Networks Info

In my experience you don't even need to go after the PLCs. The operating systems are typically so out of date and missing patches so exploitation is usually pretty trivial. Also, if you can pop the box that manages the PLCs you own everything.

Also, about 5 years ago when PLC manufacturers started adding web servers and snmp to their devices, they almost never password protected them or used hardcoded pws/snmp strings.

Finally, simple arp spoofing will usually yield tons of clear text passwords since most comm protocols are still modbus over tcp or telnet. As far as crafting CIP messages, I've never needed to do that. Total domination on ICS is usually less than a days work.

I have this book, and it is OK, not great: http://www.amazon.com/Industrial-Networ ... k+security
<<

SamoletMaj

Post Tue Jun 26, 2012 8:05 am

I completely agree, part of my testing is with the SCADA which includes the PC's and yes, it was ridiculously easy so i am drafting some action plans to patch those up.

And you are correct on the clear text also, i found some via UDP.