The Book You Should've Read Before Taking OSCP

<<

DragonGorge

Post Wed May 30, 2012 2:36 pm

The Book You Should've Read Before Taking OSCP

If you could go back and read ONE book before you took the OSCP, what would it be? A book you read that made you slap your head and say, "Ah man, if only I'd read this before the OSCP!"

My department has some discretionary training budget they need to spend (use it or lose it next year) so when they asked I said: "OSCP." The catch is that I have less than a month before I have to sign up for and start the course. I'm looking for a book that will give me a leg up on the class such that I can at least look at my wife in the evenings/on weekends. I figure I have time for 1 book.

I've been programming C/C++ using MS Studio for many years and lately working with C#. I've done a few basic programs in Python - enough to know that I've really been spoiled by MS Studio's debugging environment. No Ruby, no Perl. A little Linux. My pen testing/hacking/network knowledge is basically a little above what I got from my CEH course.

So far, I've got my eye on:
Hacking, The Art of Exploitation
Coding for Penetration Testers
Backtrack 4
Practical Packet Analysis (seems to focus heavily on Wireshark and I believe sil used "a step above a For Dummies book" in his review)

Any suggestions?
<<

Dark_Knight

Post Wed May 30, 2012 4:32 pm

Re: The Book You Should've Read Before Taking OSCP

I would probably add:
Counter Hack Reloaded - Ed Skoudis
CEH, OSCP, GPEN, GWAPT, GCIA
http://sector876.blogspot.com
<<

dynamik

Recruiters
Recruiters

Post Wed May 30, 2012 6:35 pm

I'd go for something more general, such as Counter Hack Reloaded like DK mentioned, or maybe Penetration Tester's Open Source Toolkit. You might want to also check out something like Practical Guide to Linux Commands, Editors, and Shell Programming. I think you're going to struggle unnecessarily if you're weak on Linux.