My OSCP review

<<

amol_d

Post Tue Apr 10, 2012 10:15 am

My OSCP review

Hi guys
This is my first post in EH.net, although I have been a regular visitor for the past 6 months lurking on OSCP discussions. This forum has helped me immensely, in reading discussions by people who were in a similar situation as me, as well as from people who had got the certification and were giving tips and encouragement. So I had promised myself if I would get OSCP, I would definitely share my exp here, and hope it may help someone else.

My background: I have been working in IT sec for arround 9 years in SE Asia, as a C++ systems and Java programmer, then Web app Vuln Assessment, and now in security architecture review. So my background is IT security BUT no sys / network admin experience at all, and it was my biggest handicap in giving OSCP. My strength was the few years I had done web application VA, although VA is very different from a full fledged pen test in terms of skill and mind set.

OSCP labs: I will keep it very brief, because others have written a lot about it and I have nothing new to contribute here: its awesome, its great, there is nothing like it, you will be tortured like hell and you will love every moment of it etc. The gist of my lab experience was I rooted arround 25 machines, I took 3 months of lab time (the last month was an overkill though I was mentally too fatigued to do much). I tried to do the labs from 10 pm to 1 am every work night and as much as possible on weekends, not an easy thing when you are married with a 2 year old, so having a very understanding wife helps!

OSCP exam: Instead of the technical part of the exam, which we are not supposed to discuss anyways because of the NDA, I will focus on what I did right and wrong