Where to find ethical hacker to review code/ give instructions on fix.

<<

newbie101

Post Mon Feb 27, 2012 5:21 pm

Where to find ethical hacker to review code/ give instructions on fix.

My situation is this. I outsourced a fairly large project. We have just finished up and im sure there are security holes all over the place. I actually had someone run some software and found minor mysql injections issues.

My question is this. From a subjective view (im not technical) what would be the best/smartest way to have someone who knows hacking review my code and give me instructions on fixes.

Currently i have

-ran software (that guy was good but got busy and bailed on me)

-posted some jobs on elance (about 2-3 highly reviewed people bid but still not sure if its the smartest route.

-finally there is a good college nearby with a really good computer science department. Tomorrow i plan on driving there and trying to get an undergrad to start reviewing code.

I would like to hear some feedback, from a non technical standpoint, knowing what you all know, what is the best strategy to securing my website up. Over 500 hour project so far, so pretty big. I noticed when it was too late they are using some GET and POST variables where most likely they shouldn't be. So again, id appreciate the feedback.
<<

cd1zz

Recruiters
Recruiters

Post Mon Feb 27, 2012 10:47 pm

Re: Where to find ethical hacker to review code/ give instructions on fix.

My company does this if you want a professional organization to have a look. PM if you want more information.
<<

MaXe

Post Wed Feb 29, 2012 4:48 pm

Talking about proprietary vectors, there's also Hatforce  ;D (There's both public and private / trusted tests, contact them for more info.)

Anyway, I do suggest that you either go through the code, or get someone else to do it. Don't make a program do it for you naturally, as it may as you say, contain several vulnerabilities.