Going into security industry

<<

pharmerjoe

Post Thu Feb 09, 2012 1:52 pm

Going into security industry

I'll give you the full low-down, I'm mid 20s, from the UK. I have already done a science degree (to Masters level) and I've been unsuccessful in getting a job due to the current market for that job role and that part of the country.
So i want to go back to a passion I've had for years, which is in IT security. However, I have minimal qualifications (from school) for IT, but I have natural and self taught talent which exceeds even that of some people in university. I have a cousin who has an Honours in Computer Networking, and he said I would have walked his degree. However, I have nothing on paper to back anything up. My only hope is to start doing loads of certificates, likes CEH, ECSA, SANS,etc. I am willing to do whatever ones it takes. However, realistically, will I be able to get a job in the security industry with that? And what kind of salary could I hope for when starting out, and how much could it escalate to?
<<

hayabusa

Post Thu Feb 09, 2012 2:35 pm

Re: Going into security industry

If you were asking if you could land an IT security job without a degree - absolutely!  Both don and I have done so.  Sometimes it may be more difficult, and will require you to be able to speak well (communicate,) earn some certs (and continue to grow and expand upon them,) and gain as much experience where and when you can.  Additionally, network with folks, get active in IT security communities, and start getting to know people in the industry.

It's not always easy, and there are days I wish I'd had a degree to help me out with the headhunters, but at the end of the day, I'm doing very well for myself, considering the lack of any degree.