.

Hardware for OSCP

<<

Dranex

User avatar

Newbie
Newbie

Posts: 16

Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2011 2:38 pm

Post Wed Feb 01, 2012 4:05 am

Hardware for OSCP

Hi guys, almost ready to take the plunge now, just one question - is it worth purchasing a decent Hacktop (probably a hackbook pro) for the course or would it be easier to use a virtual machine on my desktop? The spec isn't bad, its an intel quad with 4gb ram.
<<

hayabusa

User avatar

Hero Member
Hero Member

Posts: 1662

Joined: Mon Jan 29, 2007 2:59 pm

Post Wed Feb 01, 2012 7:17 am

Re: Hardware for OSCP

OSCP is easily managed from a VM.  In fact, they have a download for a BT image, when you take the course.  I don't think you'll need to worry about that.
~ hayabusa ~ 

"All men can see these tactics whereby I conquer, but what none can see is the strategy out of which victory is evolved." - Sun Tzu, 'The Art of War'


OSCE, OSCP , GPEN, C|EH
<<

TheXero

User avatar

Full Member
Full Member

Posts: 112

Joined: Tue Dec 07, 2010 12:24 pm

Post Thu Feb 02, 2012 3:55 am

Re: Hardware for OSCP

As long as you can run a VM with about a gig of ram, you'll be fine.

It's not that heavily focused on password cracking, I even used my netbook in the lab some days :)
<<

j0rDy

User avatar

Hero Member
Hero Member

Posts: 591

Joined: Tue Feb 23, 2010 4:55 am

Location: Netherlands

Post Thu Feb 02, 2012 10:45 am

Re: Hardware for OSCP

dont worry about your rig, its fine...just make sure you have a stable internet connection with a decent download and upload speed. There is nothing more frustrating than losing your connection during a special custom crafted exploit and find your connection failing just when you executed it...
CISSP, CEH, ECSA, OSCP, OSWP

earning my stripes appears to be a road i must travel alone...with a little help of EH.net

Return to OSCP - Offensive Security Certified Professional

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron
.
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group.
Designed by ST Software