Pass OSCP

<<

uid0

Post Tue Dec 27, 2011 8:41 am

Pass OSCP

Greetings white hats and hackers!

I decided to take the OSCP but first of all I'd have some questions about this exam.

First: If I learn and understand the course, I will be able to pass?
I have no programming skills.

I'm a 2 years experienced sysadmin with RHCE and CCNA Security as additional certs.

Thanks a lot!

PS: What's the pass procent rate at first attempt?
<<

dynamik

Recruiters
Recruiters

Post Tue Dec 27, 2011 8:50 am

Re: Pass OSCP

Welcome to the forums :)

I think having that level of Linux knowledge is going to help out a lot. You don't need to be an expert programmer, but it would help to start playing around with Python and getting the basics down.

Google has a free two-day course: http://code.google.com/edu/languages/go ... hon-class/ and there are plenty of other Python resources mentioned regularly if you search around the forums a bit.

I don't think they publish pass percentages, but this is a fairly difficult exam. Unlike most others, technical knowledge alone won't get you through this. You really need to have the right mindset and be good at solving puzzles, organizing and correlating information, etc.
The day you stop learning is the day you start becoming obsolete.
<<

cd1zz

Recruiters
Recruiters

Post Tue Dec 27, 2011 9:37 am

The course and course syllabus are merely a suggestion or a way to "point you in the right direction." There is quite a bit of outside research that you'll go through on your own. Don't get me wrong, the course materials are very valuable but its not a typical course/exam like you're probably used to.
<<

Solinus

Post Tue Dec 27, 2011 11:36 am