64-Bit Linux Swap Partition Size Recommendation

<<

Seen

Post Tue Dec 13, 2011 12:39 am

64-Bit Linux Swap Partition Size Recommendation

So I've finally decided to setup a dual-boot for OpenSuse x64 and Windows 7 on my new notebook.  (I've been running OpenSuse in a VM just because I like that my new system can run multiple VMs simultaneously!)

I was wondering, what should the size of the swap partition be?  I used to make it double the amount of RAM, so when I had 512 MB I made it 1 gig.  But now I have 8 gigs of RAM, which would make the swap 16 gigs which seems too big.  I've never used a 64-bit version of linux before, so does anyone have any suggestions as to how big the swap should be with 8 gigs of RAM?  Also, my OpenSuse system will be on an SSD drive if that matters.

I did a Google search on this first and (surprisingly) didn't really come up with any useful tips.
Sec+, eCPPT
<<

TheXero

Post Tue Dec 13, 2011 3:55 am

Re: 64-Bit Linux Swap Partition Size Recommendation

To be honest, I don't even have a swap partition (I have 6GB of ram)

I've not had a problem with my machine unless all of the ram is used, then it just goes really slow for a few minutes until some is free
<<

vekarman

Post Tue Dec 13, 2011 6:43 am

@Seen,

In old days, when memory cost was sky high, we used to have double-the-ram size swap partitions. Now as they are cheaper, swap size is not of concern. I had seen server with 64GB Ram running Unix flavors with very small swap partition. However, it entirely depends on what you are going to do with system. If it is a dbserver or something heavy, then we need to consider swap size.
CISSP
<<

Seen

Post Tue Dec 13, 2011 9:53 am

I'm primarily going to use it as an attacking machine.  So running john the ripper, nmap, nessus, metasploit, etc.  In fact, I'm considering either triple booting OpenSuse, Backtrack 5, and Windows.  Or I might just use Backtrack instead of OpenSuse.