need help with metasploit

<<

acidicloop

Post Tue Nov 29, 2011 12:54 am

need help with metasploit

Hello yall, I am new here to the forums and I have a quick question preceded by a little background. I am CEH certified and I do teach for a tech boot camp company, so I have some background in this. I set up my labs in virtual box as backtrack 5 and win xp service pack 2. Now when I first started learning metasploit I started with what everyone seems to start with, the old ms08_067_netapi one. This used to work fine back in backtrack 4 and I would pop the xp box everytime. Now I get error, connection refused by remote host then it lists my backtrack ip with a port number of 445. Says exploit completed but no session was created. Does this exploit no longer work in backtrack 5? I know the meterpreter session and reverse tcp is good to go because I just create the trojan now using msfpayload and do it that way. I noticed that armitage doesnt work for me anymore, no exploits work. It runs but doesnt do any exploits as in never gives me the attack menu after I scan for exploits by vulnerability. Just curious if anyone else is having this problem, thanks
<<

acidicloop

Post Tue Nov 29, 2011 1:31 am

Re: need help with metasploit

never mind, I am a moron today. I messed up the rhost and the lhost, had them reversed.
<<

hurtl0cker

Post Tue Nov 29, 2011 3:41 am

Well, when I started out with Metasploit I had the same problem while using ms08-067 against Windows XP SP2. The possible reason is the the victim machine is no more vulnerable(patch has been installed) or there is a Firewall enabled on the XP machine or there is a problem with the IP to connect back.
In my case the XP machine had patch installed and also Firewall enabled. I used some client side attack using SET to exploit the same XP machine and open a meterpreter session. The failure to create a session has nothing much to do with BT5, it's about what your target machine is.