Is windows xp sp4 still risky ?

<<

hack_newbie

Post Sun Oct 02, 2011 9:32 am

Is windows xp sp4 still risky ?

Hi all.

I have done some research on my own but wasnt successful. i am just getting started with security stuff in terms of system hacking. I am a network engineer (cisco based) and have a good knowledge of networks and related protocols.

What currently interests me, is windows xp (with sp4 and other patches uptodate) is still exploitable. Can we still use pass the hash attack to exploit the machine ?

I know i should have tried it first but just wanted to get some feedback from you guys :-)

If i asked something stupid then please pardon me and correct me
<<

impelse

Post Sun Oct 02, 2011 10:41 am

Re: Is windows xp sp4 still risky ?

The OS could be fully protected but what about the application that the computer has, those could be exploited like adobe, msql, mysql, etc, etc
CCNA, Security+, 70-290, 70-291
CCNA Security
Taking Hackingdojo training

<<

hack_newbie

Post Sun Oct 02, 2011 11:09 am

Yes that could be one way of doing it. But i just wanted to know about the OS itself, is it currently unexploitable ?
<<

cd1zz

Recruiters
Recruiters

Post Sun Oct 02, 2011 7:44 pm

There is no such thing as XP SP4.

XP SP3 has a EOL in April 2014 I believe. And yes, of course it is still vulnerable.
<<

hayabusa

Post Sun Oct 02, 2011 8:10 pm

I saw the mention of SP4, and more or less ignored this one.  If someone doesn't even know SP4 doesn't exist (or do the research to find out,) it's not worth the time to respond, IMHO.

Regarding that EOL, though, we ALL know there will still be plenty of attack surface, of XP, even after that date, as businesses just don't care, sometimes.  Good security posture would suggest staying on a current, patched OS, but I speak for many pentesters who know, for fact, that it's just not followed, religiously, if it's even in many companies' plans, at all.
~ hayabusa ~