I picked the wrong degree... or did I?

<<

Triban

Post Wed Sep 07, 2011 10:07 am

I picked the wrong degree... or did I?

I graduated back in 2000 with a degree in MIS.  Essentially a Business degree with concentration on Information Systems.  Thankfully I got a job with the Info Sys dept on campus so I was able to get most of my early experience from that.  Then landed a co-op job with a local insurance company that gave me some additional sys admin experience in an enterprise environment. 

11 years later, I am using the sys admin and consulting experience to push into my Info Sec career.  I went back to the school's curriculum to see if they have added any security related classes and sadly they haven't.  Then I took a look at the CS department and shocked to see that most of what I've been interested in over the last few years has been taught there.  Granted I never really wanted to be a coder, so I figured why bother with CS?  Anyway I've come a long way I think from my MIS roots and continue to enjoy diving further into the inner workings of the systems. 

What am I getting at?  I have no real idea.  Am I a hacker?  Maybe at heart I am, in its purest sense of the word.  Did not going CS as a major hinder my newly found desire to break the systems so I can figure out how better to protect them?  Maybe only slightly.  I do believe that MIS did give me the soft skills that are desperately needed to further one's career.  As far as CS goes, well my original major was Biology and I've always had a strong interest in Science, so what is really the difference in what I do now?  The viruses I deal with now are just digital.  They still cause havok on their target systems which are electronic rather than biological.  In the end I think I am right where I wanted to be, just took a bit longer than some.