Dumping memory and browsing through it

<<

kamikaze_fish

Post Wed Jun 08, 2011 12:06 pm

Dumping memory and browsing through it

I'm new to computer forensics but I'm trying to figure out how to dump the data in the physical memory, maybe to a flash drive, and what can I use to browse that dump?  I was looking at win32dd and win64dd and possibly using volitility to browse the contents but not sure if there's something better to use or would someone can point me to training material
<<

sil

Post Wed Jun 08, 2011 12:52 pm

Re: Dumping memory and browsing through it

If you're a glutton for punishment, Mandiant Memorize + WinDBG will get you ALL you will need (http://www.mandiant.com/products/free_s ... /memoryze/)

Volatility works just fine without the hassles of getting your hands really dirty as well. WMFT is alright as well but any of the ones mentioned should get you started and finished.

http://www.mandiant.com/products/free_s ... /memoryze/
http://forensic.seccure.net/tools/wmft_0.2.zip
<<

sil

Post Wed Jun 08, 2011 4:23 pm

You could also use DFF see 2 minute video walkthrough

http://www.infiltrated.net/dff-walkthrough/
<<

R3B005t

Post Fri Jun 10, 2011 1:36 pm

Sil what are you thoughts on DFF? I'm playing around with it and find it to be pretty robust so far, I'd recommend kamikaze go for the Mandiant Memorize and the Memorize viewer initally till he gets more comfortable with the more advanced memory forensic tools.  There really is no end to memory analysis kit out there, if your comfortable with nix then you could play around with the sans sift workstation....

Actually Mandiant put out a new memory analysis tool called Redline, I have yet to play with it (dling now) but it might be worth looking into, overall I think the make a decent product.  So to recap Memoryze & Audit Viewer, or Redline would be great starting points.
Last edited by R3B005t on Fri Jun 10, 2011 1:41 pm, edited 1 time in total.
<<

sil

Post Fri Jun 10, 2011 1:56 pm