connecting to a pc threw mac address

<<

JayOni

Post Sun May 29, 2011 1:28 pm

connecting to a pc threw mac address

Ok once again I'd like to say that im a student and currently in my network+ class, I could probably look this info up myself eventually wasting between 1-3 hours of study time but since you guys were so helpful with my last post about the command prompt I figured I'd ask you guys again.

Ok here the thing I want to know how to connect to a PC on my network threw the MAC (I got 4 computers on my network so its good hands on practice instead of just book learning). I already got a program that scans all of the IP address and converts them into the MAC address on my network, and it works i've tested it already. So what would I do from here do I use another 3rd party software program or is there a more direct route?

Anyways i'm going back to studying hope somebody can help me.
<<

Grendel

Post Sun May 29, 2011 1:46 pm

Re: connecting to a pc threw mac address

I'm not sure you understand the way the TCP/IP stack works - whenever you send a packet to a computer (using IP address) the link layer has to be involved (which includes the MAC protocol). And if you want to talk between applications, then you have to also progress through the Internet layer and Transport layer. You can't really talk with the system until you get past the Internet layer (and then it's not very meaningful until you get to the application layer).

If you're trying to avoid using IP addresses, and only communicate between systems at the link layer, then focus on those protocols at that layer... but MAC and all the other protocols at this layer have the only function of moving packets between different systems.

This question seems a bit nonsensical to me - again, I'm not sure you understand how the stack works.
- Thomas Wilhelm, MSCS MSM
ISSMP CISSP SCSECA SCNA IEM

Web Site:
  • http://HackingDojo.com
Author:
  • Professional Penetration Testing
  • Ninja Hacking