Help with basic command prompt

<<

JayOni

Post Fri May 27, 2011 7:45 pm

Help with basic command prompt

First off I would like to say that I am still a student and just recently I just started learning how to use the cmd prompt and I hope nobody get mad at me for asking such a simple question.

I'm looking at PING, when I do PING <IP address> why does the same exact thing show as PING -a, <IP address>? I know -a is to resolve addresses to host names but im a little confused as to what that really means and why it would look like a normal PING.

Also I'd like to know what would be a point of a continuous ping using -t unless its an form of attack on a workstation. (And what would be the syntx to stop it the help file in my cmd promt says "to stop type control-c" would i type PING -c <ip address>?
<<

hayabusa

Post Fri May 27, 2011 8:37 pm

Re: Help with basic command prompt

Hi JayOni.

First, ping -a will give you a hostname that an IP resolves to, if the IP is registered in DNS, or a nameservice.  If not, you'll get the same address returned as a result, similar to what you get without the -a.  So, it's useful if you have an IP you're looking at, and want to see what hostname belongs to the address.  Say you review a log, and see an IP regularly hits your firewall.  You might try -a, to see if you can determine the host.  Subsequently, in a test, you might ping sweep a range of addresses, to see which are responding.  You might then try to see what the ones are, that respond to the initial sweep.

Next, -t is handy if you're doing connectivity testing.  For instance, if you suspect you have connection issues, or want to see if there's packet loss, etc, you might run a continuous ping, to see if you are not getting responses to all your ping packets (meaning it either dropped your outbound packets, or the return packets, somewhere.

There are other scenarios where you might use it, but that's one example.