Online MSIS degrees

<<

paul007ex

Post Wed Apr 20, 2011 1:24 pm

Online MSIS degrees

Hi - I'm new to the forum so excuse my ignorance and n00bness if you may  :P
I am interested in pursuing a MS in Information Systems/Security. I currently have a Bachelors in Computing and Software Systems which is essentially a CS/SE degree, good programming foundation, software engineering courses and project management etc..

My background is very mixed. I've worked @ helpdesk over a decade ago, written C code, developed Windows features, worked on security protocols, manages small teams  etc... I also have my CISSP.

Ultimately, I want to move into a CIO role and looking to carve a path there... I'm looking for the right mix of technical and management, but not lean too heavily on one or the other.  I don't want to do the MBA route (at the moment) because I still want to be technically averse. I don't want to do the MSCS route because it's too technically focused. A MSIS seems like a good middle ground.

Thoughts?
<<

ziggy_567

Post Wed Apr 20, 2011 2:05 pm

Re: Online MSIS degrees

It is somewhat school dependent, but most MSIS programs are basically an MBA with a technical aspect. In fact, a number of the core courses I took for my MSIS were MBA classes. I would say about 25% to 33% of the classes were MBA classes. The rest were MSIS specific or electives.
--
Ziggy

eCPPT - GSEC - GCIH - GWAPT - GCUX - RHCE - SCSecA - Security+ - Network+
<<

paul007ex

Post Wed Apr 20, 2011 2:36 pm

Thanks Ziggy, it sounds like you had a good experience. What school did you go to and/or recommend? Somewhat budget concious... My work covers 5K (only!) in tuition expenses / year...

The SANS seems to be a no-bs program with strong backing. It seems appealing.. but the 30K costs and the travel requirements are not so much..
<<

ziggy_567

Post Wed Apr 20, 2011 3:33 pm