SCADA / cyber security advice

<<

tim.just.tim

Post Tue Apr 19, 2011 9:27 am

SCADA / cyber security advice

Good morning,

I am seeking a bit of advice from a career / education perspective. I'm a Process Control Engineer, working at a public utility. I work in SCADA systems, PLC's, and DCS's (Distributed Control Systems). Sorry for all the acronyms, but I figure you folks are used to them, with all the certs floating around out there.

I am very interested in focusing my career on the SCADA / cyber security side of things. My background is in Chemical Engineering, not IT, however; and right now, I sort of feel like I'm trying to take a sip of water from a fire hose.

With my work experience in SCADA systems, I've had to tinker around in Domain Controllers, firewalls, DMZ's, DCOM, SQL, etc... I know just enough to be able to troubleshoot some minor problems, but by no means am I an expert. I definitely can't explain the "why's" at this point.

So I've decided to apply to a Master's program in Information Security. I want to focus on the SCADA side of things, and how they are segregated from business networks. The protocols I typically work with would be TCP/IP and Modbus / Modbus+. And OPC (is that a protocol? See, I've got so much to learn...).

There are four pre-requisites required before acceptance into the program that I am interested in. I'll be taking these, starting in the Fall. They are:

• Fall semester: 1) discrete / logical structures; 2) JAVA programming
  • Spring semester: 3) computer org / assembly; 4) program design & data structures

So those are the official requirements, but given my non-IT background, I feel that I ought to beef up a bit more before actually entering the program. That's really where I'm seeking advice, and with that in mind, I'm considering the following: