.

ALFA AWUS036NH RT3070 with aircrack-ng help

<<

millwalll

Post Tue Feb 01, 2011 4:41 pm

ALFA AWUS036NH RT3070 with aircrack-ng help

Hi all,

I need some help I am having play with air-crack and this first time I have used it.
When I run airmon-ng start wlan0 11

I get
Interface       Chipset         Driver

wlan0           Ralink RT2870/3070      rt2800usb - [phy0]
                               (monitor mode enabled on mon0)

I then try and a test injection using aireplay-ng -9 mon0 and it works fine then once i have stop it using airmon stop wlan0 and then start it on another channel and  try again to do aireplay-ng -9 mon0 I don't get any result I don't get why

21:37:33  Trying broadcast probe requests...
21:37:35  No Answer...
21:37:35  Found 0 APs

I know there are wireless on this channel too am i stopping it the wrong way ?
Last edited by millwalll on Tue Feb 01, 2011 5:42 pm, edited 1 time in total.
<<

TheXero

User avatar

Full Member
Full Member

Posts: 112

Joined: Tue Dec 07, 2010 12:24 pm

Post Wed Feb 02, 2011 3:41 am

Re: ALFA AWUS036NH RT3070 with aircrack-ng help

Are you using the SVN copy of aircrack-ng?

If I'm switching to a dfferent channel, I also tend to refresh my driver as well, just to make sure

  Code:
rmmod rt2800usb
modprobe rt2800usb
airmon-ng stop mon0
airmon-ng start wlan0 9


Hope that helps

~TheXero
Last edited by TheXero on Wed Feb 02, 2011 8:10 am, edited 1 time in total.
<<

millwalll

Post Wed Feb 02, 2011 3:57 am

Re: ALFA AWUS036NH RT3070 with aircrack-ng help

Hi

No I am using the one that comes pre installed on BT4 I will try that see ifI have any luck thanks
<<

TheXero

User avatar

Full Member
Full Member

Posts: 112

Joined: Tue Dec 07, 2010 12:24 pm

Post Wed Feb 02, 2011 4:24 am

Re: ALFA AWUS036NH RT3070 with aircrack-ng help

Thats the SVN version so run these commands as root

  Code:
cd /pentest/wireless/aircrack-ng
svn update
make
airodump-ng-oui-update


That will update, configure and install the current version of the aircrack-ng suite in the same location

~ThXero
<<

millwalll

Post Wed Feb 02, 2011 8:55 am

Re: ALFA AWUS036NH RT3070 with aircrack-ng help

Ok I have done that and it still not working its very strange i get it working then for some reason it wont work :(
Last edited by millwalll on Wed Feb 02, 2011 9:09 am, edited 1 time in total.
<<

rattis

User avatar

Hero Member
Hero Member

Posts: 1172

Joined: Mon Jul 27, 2009 1:25 pm

Post Wed Feb 02, 2011 11:43 am

Re: ALFA AWUS036NH RT3070 with aircrack-ng help

The WiFu course made a point in every module to refresh the card.

every time you change channels or finish what you're working, re-install the drivers (the rmmod and modprobe commands), just to make sure you're working with a fresh card.
OSWP, Sec+
<<

venom77

User avatar

Hero Member
Hero Member

Posts: 1905

Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2006 3:23 pm

Post Wed Feb 02, 2011 11:44 am

Re: ALFA AWUS036NH RT3070 with aircrack-ng help

You need to stop mon0, not stop wlan0
<<

venom77

User avatar

Hero Member
Hero Member

Posts: 1905

Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2006 3:23 pm

Post Wed Feb 02, 2011 11:48 am

Re: ALFA AWUS036NH RT3070 with aircrack-ng help

Or maybe I'm just confused, I don't have an interface available to try this with atm. I have seen problems with changing channels with this device for some reason though. Like chrisj mentioned above, you may just need to refresh each time.
<<

rattis

User avatar

Hero Member
Hero Member

Posts: 1172

Joined: Mon Jul 27, 2009 1:25 pm

Post Wed Feb 02, 2011 12:05 pm

Re: ALFA AWUS036NH RT3070 with aircrack-ng help

BillV wrote:You need to stop mon0, not stop wlan0


Pretty sure he'd have to stop both... Mon0, then wlan0. change channel on wlan0, and then make a new monitor.

I'm interested in what things like iwlist say when you run them though. Is it showing both mon0 and wlan0 on the proper channel?

(I could fire things up and make sure I get the right commands, but they frown when I get the wireless hacking rig out at work).
OSWP, Sec+
<<

millwalll

Post Wed Feb 02, 2011 2:19 pm

Re: ALFA AWUS036NH RT3070 with aircrack-ng help

I think I have found out what wrong and I am not sure why this is once i stop it all its like it does not see the wireless card I need to unplug it and plug it back in not sure why this is I am using VMWare.

one quick question if your wireless AP and it is called Test wireless when I try and run this
aireplay-ng -9 -e Test Wireless -a 00:1E:2A:58:34:24 mon0  it does nothing as soon as i changed the -e to a one word it works fine is there certain way to pass two words ?
Last edited by millwalll on Wed Feb 02, 2011 2:59 pm, edited 1 time in total.
<<

TheXero

User avatar

Full Member
Full Member

Posts: 112

Joined: Tue Dec 07, 2010 12:24 pm

Post Thu Feb 03, 2011 2:03 am

Re: ALFA AWUS036NH RT3070 with aircrack-ng help

"Put it in quotes"

Return to Wireless

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

.
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group.
Designed by ST Software