OSCP Programming Needs

<<

nothingelse

Post Thu Jan 20, 2011 5:33 pm

OSCP Programming Needs

Hey all I am going to be starting the OSCP certification very soon.  Basically I am going to be evaluating it's relevance for how it may benefit some of my co-workers.  With that said I was just wondering how much programming knowledge is required for successful completion of the certification.  I did some light python programming in my GWAPT certification and I occasionally do Perl programming at work for task automation.  I can generally look at code and understand what it is doing, but I don't do it often enough to where I can sit down and write a new program without referring back to previous code.  Do you think that this will be good enough for what is required for this cert?  This is my biggest concern about whether I can pass this certification as I have read varying things on here.  I have been working as a Security/Intrusion analyst for 3 years now so I feel that the security networking aspect won't be a problem.  Appreciate any insight that anybody could provide.
GCIA Gold, GWAPT
<<

RoleReversal

Post Thu Jan 20, 2011 5:41 pm

Re: OSCP Programming Needs

NothingElse,

I'm hoping someone will correct me if I'm out of date, OSCP was version 2 when I was on the course.

To me the programming requirements were fairly minor, if you've coded in the past and can understand the concepts of loop, conditional statements etc. then you should be fine. I felt that the labs and videos did a good job of gently introducing the requirements, and the examples were easy to follow along with and use as a basis for the exercises.

If you've done some Python/Perl in the past then you should have enough experience to be able to work through the OSCP requirements.

Hope this helps, good luck on the course. Just make sure you enjoy it (you will) and that you TRY HARDER (you'll have too ;) )
<<

nothingelse

Post Thu Jan 20, 2011 7:49 pm

Andrew,