What I Need To Do. Thoughts?

<<

dmef

Post Fri Dec 10, 2010 12:53 pm

What I Need To Do. Thoughts?

Hi all,
First, you people have a great forum and the people are very friendly hats off to everyone and a very big Thank You for sharing knowledge

Second, I am a system administrator for the past two years and of-late i am planning to move into security field(penetration testing) and become specialized in it.

So with my limited knowledge I came upon this board and started reading all the threads and have come to a point where I am somewhat clear of what i need to do.

I have passed RHCE and have a good understanding of Networking and *nix based systems but have very little knowledge of Windows with this background I plan to do the following to get me started in my path.

Step 1  Step 2 Step 3    Step 4 Step 5 Step 6
RHCE   eCPPT OSCP    M.S Security Job       SANS Certs, CISSP

Things to know apart from RHCE in Step 1
----------------------------------------
01. Good basic knowledge of Networking (TCP - IP - UDP)
02. Basic to intermediate knowledge of Shell Scripting
03. Basic C and Python Programming

Things to know apart from eCPPT in Step 2
-----------------------------------------
01. Good understanding of *nix based OS
02. Internediate level to Advanced level knowledge in Networking
03. Good programming(Network releated) knowledge in C
04. Good understanding of ASM(x86,others) Programming
05. Good understanding of Windows OS

Things to know apart from OSCP in Step 3
----------------------------------------
01. Still have No idea, once I finish eCPPT I think I will know what to learn(just a guess tho)

Things to do in Step 4
----------------------
01. Get an internship in security firm to gain experience in the field
02. Prepare for OSCE

Things to do in Step 6
----------------------
01. After getting a job will do SANS Certification
02. After getting enough experience will do CISSP

Books I think which will help me
--------------------------------