Master thesis subject

<<

Maxicore

Post Mon Dec 13, 2010 3:57 am

Master thesis subject

Hi everybody!

I'm studying computer science in a belgian university and am currently in 1st master. Our university hasn't really a security orientation and, as I want to work in computer security (networking or operating system) , I have to find a subject for my thesis which is about security in order to get a little experience in the field.

The problem is that I really don't know how to find a good subject. Do you know how I could proceed to find one to present to my professor?

Just to be clear, I 'm not asking you to "do the job for me" but just to give me some hints. I hope I posted this in the good section...

thanks in advance,
<<

Anquilas

Post Tue Dec 14, 2010 3:18 am

Re: Master thesis subject

Hi Maxicore and welcome to EHN!

First of all: I am very happy to see a fellow Belgian on this forum :)

I had a similar situation like you two years ago. I pushed a bit here and there and finally got a thesis where I needed to make a couple of useful tools based on Nmap, Snort and the likes. I learned a lot from that.

In general I can say:
If it's a practical thesis -> do something with a well known open-source tool. Create a couple of Nmap scripts for a specific security problem, or a Metasploit module.
You can always take a look at the Google Summer of Code projects (Google it in case you never heared of it), and see if you can get some inspiration there. Hell, maybe you can combine that program with your thesis and actually get paid ;)

If it's more a write-everything-down thesis, you can talk about hot topics in security. Dissect Stuxnet for example, or write about social engineering. Or mobile security (specific on one OS or not).