.

vmware pen testing lab help

<<

millwalll

Post Sun Oct 31, 2010 5:48 am

vmware pen testing lab help

Hi all,

I am setting up intrustion to config a pen testing lab http://www.securityaegis.com/network-pentest-lab/ I have downloaded vmware server but it does not have the virtual network editor. Has anyone else has this problem ? any fixes ?

Many thanks
James
<<

ziggy_567

User avatar

Sr. Member
Sr. Member

Posts: 379

Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2008 1:53 pm

Post Sun Oct 31, 2010 9:40 am

Re: vmware pen testing lab help

Vmware Server is no longer supported and is being deprecated. You are better off using Vmware Player or buying Vmware Workstation. I think Workstation is around $150 per license or thereabouts...
--
Ziggy


eCPPT - GSEC - GCIH - GWAPT - GCUX - RHCE - SCSecA - Security+ - Network+
<<

pseud0

User avatar

Recruiters
Recruiters

Posts: 210

Joined: Sat Nov 17, 2007 8:26 pm

Location: Detroit, Michigan

Post Sun Oct 31, 2010 10:23 am

Re: vmware pen testing lab help

I'm a fan of workstation as I use it for malware analysis, but I get to expense the license.  If cost is a concern I'd suggest looking at virtualbox. 

http://www.virtualbox.org/manual/ch03.h ... gs-network
CISSP, CISM, CISA, GCIH, GREM, CEH, HMFIC, KTHXBIROFLCOPTER
<<

hayabusa

User avatar

Hero Member
Hero Member

Posts: 1702

Joined: Mon Jan 29, 2007 2:59 pm

Post Sun Oct 31, 2010 10:59 am

Re: vmware pen testing lab help

Assuming you like VMWare, VMWare Workstation is by far the most useful for building and tweaking labs, IMHO.
~ hayabusa ~ 

"All men can see these tactics whereby I conquer, but what none can see is the strategy out of which victory is evolved." - Sun Tzu, 'The Art of War'


OSCE, OSCP , GPEN, C|EH
<<

millwalll

Post Sun Oct 31, 2010 11:05 am

Re: vmware pen testing lab help

Hi,

Thanks will look into workstation
<<

rattis

User avatar

Hero Member
Hero Member

Posts: 1187

Joined: Mon Jul 27, 2009 1:25 pm

Post Sun Oct 31, 2010 11:28 pm

Re: vmware pen testing lab help

I have to second Virtual Box. It's what I use for my lab (on the laptop). While it won't get you the interviews and jobs like VMWare products, it works really really well.
OSWP, Sec+
<<

millwalll

Post Mon Nov 01, 2010 10:11 am

Re: vmware pen testing lab help

Thanks for all the good advice one more question what Operating system should a good pen tester have in his/her lab.

xp pro sp2
xp pro sp3 ?
Vista prem sp1/ sp2 ??
vista business sp1/ sp2 ?
Windoes 7 pro?
windows 7 ultimate
any help be nice please :P
<<

dante

User avatar

Jr. Member
Jr. Member

Posts: 58

Joined: Wed Jul 21, 2010 10:17 pm

Post Mon Nov 01, 2010 10:46 am

Re: vmware pen testing lab help

Its ideal to have all possible combination of OS version and SPs installed. As once you get into exploit development it will come handy. At the beginning you will not be needing any more than Windows XP sp2. Of course if you wanna try vista/windows 7 exploits from metasploit then you got to have it installed.

Add some debian, redhat, slackware OS flavors to your list. And a real old version of redhat/debian to practice buffer overflows in linux. Its easier that way otherwise you got to be tinkering with gcc options and /proc kernel options to make it work.

Also check this excellent post by Equix3n-
http://www.ethicalhacker.net/component/ ... /#msg33158

+1 for virtual box. It just gets the job done.
Last edited by dante on Mon Nov 01, 2010 11:18 am, edited 1 time in total.
<<

rattis

User avatar

Hero Member
Hero Member

Posts: 1187

Joined: Mon Jul 27, 2009 1:25 pm

Post Mon Nov 01, 2010 11:01 am

Re: vmware pen testing lab help

millwalll wrote:Thanks for all the good advice one more question what Operating system should a good pen tester have in his/her lab.

xp pro sp2
xp pro sp3 ?
Vista prem sp1/ sp2 ??
vista business sp1/ sp2 ?
Windoes 7 pro?
windows 7 ultimate
any help be nice please :P


I'm still learning. But my lab is setup as follows:
Linux for the Host OS (Virtual Box on top of it)
Windows XP SP2 unpatched
Windows XP SP3 patched
Backtrack4
Fedora 12 missing patches

I'm sure once I get further in Grendel's book (Professional Penetration Testing), it'll look different.
OSWP, Sec+
<<

hayabusa

User avatar

Hero Member
Hero Member

Posts: 1702

Joined: Mon Jan 29, 2007 2:59 pm

Post Mon Nov 01, 2010 12:57 pm

Re: vmware pen testing lab help

chrisj wrote:I'm still learning. But my lab is setup as follows:
Linux for the Host OS (Virtual Box on top of it)
Windows XP SP2 unpatched
Windows XP SP3 patched
Backtrack4
Fedora 12 missing patches

I'm sure once I get further in Grendel's book (Professional Penetration Testing), it'll look different.


It will......    ;)
~ hayabusa ~ 

"All men can see these tactics whereby I conquer, but what none can see is the strategy out of which victory is evolved." - Sun Tzu, 'The Art of War'


OSCE, OSCP , GPEN, C|EH
<<

T_Bone

Full Member
Full Member

Posts: 199

Joined: Sat Feb 21, 2009 7:11 am

Post Mon Nov 08, 2010 4:32 pm

Re: vmware pen testing lab help

Your lab will certainly grow probably to include Solaris, BSD eventually.  I have them but haven't tested against them yet.  I also came across Vyatta the other day which is cool to simulate pen testing a router  :)
<<

rattis

User avatar

Hero Member
Hero Member

Posts: 1187

Joined: Mon Jul 27, 2009 1:25 pm

Post Mon Nov 08, 2010 4:40 pm

Re: vmware pen testing lab help

Solaris has it's own box. The Sun Ultra10 under my desk running solaris 10. BSD I already know I'm going to be loading VMs of that. :-)
OSWP, Sec+
<<

steven1664

Newbie
Newbie

Posts: 17

Joined: Thu Jul 09, 2009 9:13 am

Post Mon Nov 08, 2010 5:12 pm

Re: vmware pen testing lab help

You like vyatta then?  I downloaded it the other day but havent had a chance to really look at it. 

I will have to say that Virtualbox is great if you are looking to setup a lab.  It is very easy to manage and if you aren't able to have a box connected to the internet, say at work sometimes, Virtualbox is great because you dont need to consistently download GuestAdditions for Virtualbox, which you need to download VMWare tools everytime for VMware player, and in just my opinion VMWare Player is not as good as Virtualbox because it is just not as easy to manage a bunch of systems running at the same time as in Virtualbox, just my opinion......ok I will get off my soapbox now. 

Return to Network Pen Testing

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

.
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group.
Designed by ST Software