.

Setting up a test lab

<<

scuccii

Newbie
Newbie

Posts: 17

Joined: Mon Sep 27, 2010 9:41 pm

Post Thu Oct 21, 2010 8:00 pm

Setting up a test lab

I'm going to be setting up a test lab using VMware server on my workstation to play around with. Does anyone any suggestions on labs or setups that would be most helpful? I want to play around and watch how things work.

Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Matt
<<

Grendel

User avatar

Full Member
Full Member

Posts: 246

Joined: Thu Aug 28, 2008 8:48 am

Location: Colorado Springs, CO

Post Thu Oct 21, 2010 11:20 pm

Re: Setting up a test lab

- Thomas Wilhelm, MSCS MSM
ISSMP CISSP SCSECA SCNA IEM

Web Site:
  • http://HackingDojo.com
Author:
  • Professional Penetration Testing
  • Ninja Hacking
  • Penetration Tester's Open Source Toolkit
  • Metasploit Toolkit for Penetration Testing
  • Netcat Power Tools
<<

morpheus063

User avatar

Sr. Member
Sr. Member

Posts: 393

Joined: Sun Jun 25, 2006 10:08 am

Location: Cochin - India

Post Fri Oct 22, 2010 12:43 am

Re: Setting up a test lab

You can also go through the following EH-Net posts:

Network pentest lab setup

Pentest Lab: Web Application Edition
Manu Zacharia
MVP (Enterprise Security), ISLA-2010 (ISC)², C|EH, C|HFI, CCNA, MCP,
Certified ISO 27001:2005 Lead Auditor

[b]There are 3 roads to spoil; women, gambling & hacking. The most pleasant with women, the quickest with gambling, but the surest is hacking - c0c0n
<<

Xen

User avatar

Sr. Member
Sr. Member

Posts: 386

Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2009 3:59 am

Post Fri Oct 22, 2010 9:43 am

Re: Setting up a test lab

This is my standard 'building your lab' response at EH-Net  which I copy-paste from one thread to another. Hope you'll find it helpful.

You do not need any expensive stuff to build your 'virtual' test lab. In fact most of the stuff in my lab is absolutely free. You can find various open source counterparts of commercial tools.
There are various 'free' virtualization products available like virtualbox, vmware player and vmware server. I'm a big fan of vmware products. Personally, I believe that vmware server will be enough for what you want to do. Vmware server is a stripped down version of the excellent commercial vmware workstation but contains almost all the basic features you'll require. You can download pre-built linux virtual machines from the vmware website http://www.vmware.com/appliances/directory/
There's also a free route to get Windows OS. Either you can download the OS from Microsoft's website which comes with around 3 month trial period. Furthermore, you can also download Windows XP SP2 virtual machine from  NIST's website http://www.offensive-security.com/metas ... hine-setup
As for the softwares like ftp, telnet daemons and webservers etc...well most of them are free anyway  :D

Jhaddix and Laz3r have posted wonderful tutorials to build a virtual test lab. You can get them here:-
Network pentest lab setup
Pentest Lab: Web Application Edition

Additionally, you can practice on ready made targets like De-ICE live disks, hackerdemia and pWnOS all of which are available here http://forums.heorot.net/&nbsp; You also have LAMP security disks http://sourceforge.net/projects/lampsecurity/&nbsp; Also try your hands at the 'Skillz' section of this forum http://www.ethicalhacker.net/component/ ... oard,12.0/ They will test your limits.
There's also a topic here at EHNet which will direct you to more stuff for practicing http://www.ethicalhacker.net/component/ ... ic,5043.0/
<<

scuccii

Newbie
Newbie

Posts: 17

Joined: Mon Sep 27, 2010 9:41 pm

Post Fri Oct 22, 2010 11:07 am

Re: Setting up a test lab

Thank you all for your help. I can't wait to get started!!!
<<

dante

User avatar

Jr. Member
Jr. Member

Posts: 58

Joined: Wed Jul 21, 2010 10:17 pm

Post Fri Oct 22, 2010 12:36 pm

Re: Setting up a test lab



Are the images being verified by vmware ? Does anyone know how the trust model works here?
<<

scuccii

Newbie
Newbie

Posts: 17

Joined: Mon Sep 27, 2010 9:41 pm

Post Sat Oct 23, 2010 10:07 am

Re: Setting up a test lab

Quick question......

What are the differences between Hackerdemia and De-Ice Live CD?

Thanks
<<

scuccii

Newbie
Newbie

Posts: 17

Joined: Mon Sep 27, 2010 9:41 pm

Post Sat Oct 23, 2010 10:05 pm

Re: Setting up a test lab

Okay - Thanks to everyone in this forum I just downloaded and installed Hackerdemia within Ubuntu and got it up and working. There is a lab there thats hosted that show a few tutorials on Netcat, Nmap, and Hydra (this one doesn't work). Are there any other labs? For Hackerdemia that you can follow?

Would De-Ice be better?
<<

Grendel

User avatar

Full Member
Full Member

Posts: 246

Joined: Thu Aug 28, 2008 8:48 am

Location: Colorado Springs, CO

Post Sat Oct 23, 2010 11:38 pm

Re: Setting up a test lab

Actually, there are some additional tutorials for the hackerdemia disk, but I have not released them; they were created by, and for, students at the college where I teach. I have always been willing to accept people's tutorials to be added to the disk, so if you find yourself with nothing to do on a saturday night, you are welcome to write one up and send it to me.  =)

As for the difference between the two disks, the hackerdemia is designed to teach tools. The de-ice disks are targets to learn / practice / challenge your skills at hacking.
- Thomas Wilhelm, MSCS MSM
ISSMP CISSP SCSECA SCNA IEM

Web Site:
  • http://HackingDojo.com
Author:
  • Professional Penetration Testing
  • Ninja Hacking
  • Penetration Tester's Open Source Toolkit
  • Metasploit Toolkit for Penetration Testing
  • Netcat Power Tools
<<

scuccii

Newbie
Newbie

Posts: 17

Joined: Mon Sep 27, 2010 9:41 pm

Post Sun Oct 24, 2010 5:11 pm

Re: Setting up a test lab

Thank you Grendel - Are there tutorials or challenges with the De-Ice disks? I'm starting to get into pen testing and I was curious if there was any help with learning these techniques.

Thanks again.
<<

Grendel

User avatar

Full Member
Full Member

Posts: 246

Joined: Thu Aug 28, 2008 8:48 am

Location: Colorado Springs, CO

Post Sun Oct 24, 2010 9:53 pm

Re: Setting up a test lab

If you're going to do this on your own, I would suggest starting with the fundamentals, and learn the methodology. I suggest for those starting out to pick up a copy of the ISSAF and go from there.
- Thomas Wilhelm, MSCS MSM
ISSMP CISSP SCSECA SCNA IEM

Web Site:
  • http://HackingDojo.com
Author:
  • Professional Penetration Testing
  • Ninja Hacking
  • Penetration Tester's Open Source Toolkit
  • Metasploit Toolkit for Penetration Testing
  • Netcat Power Tools

Return to Network Pen Testing

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron
.
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group.
Designed by ST Software