Ethical Hacking-Penetration Testing "I need Help!"

<<

linuxuser

Post Tue Jul 27, 2010 1:52 pm

Ethical Hacking-Penetration Testing "I need Help!"

Hi guys!! I am a computer science student at PSUT "Princess Sumaya University for Technology" and I am happy with it! I am about to enter my second year and I don't wanna graduate until I be an Ethical Hacker and a computer scientist.
what I wanna know is that I saw a lot of things in this website such as CEH CPT and a lot!! but really I don't know what should I have to learn first to be a White Hat Hacker that can do anything programming, securing, penetration testing, hacking, developing programs...etc I wanna be that guy who knows everything in computers!!! this is my dream I can't stop it! what should I do?? what should I learn??
well, if this matters I have the EC-Council CEH V6 course installed in my computer "Ubuntu 10.04" it's about 62 modules, the first 25 have a videos lectures the self study...

PS: I want a free tutorials links for Ethical Hacking-Penetration Testing sorted by priority by an expert.

SORRY FOR BEING LAZY!! but remember you guys how were you at the first :)

cheers! :D
<<

rattis

Post Tue Jul 27, 2010 2:32 pm

Re: Ethical Hacking-Penetration Testing "I need Help!"

When I got started in IT (I started working for an Internet Backbone Provider when it was first privatized, I worked in the facilities department) in the mid 90s, I was given a list of things to learn. Nothing else was provided.

That list included: Unix, routing, switching, documentation, and phone etiquette.

I made a lot of use of the local libraries (including the University of Michigan's Dearborn Campus). What books I couldn't find, I bought.

I also got permission to stay after or come in early on my without pay, to get mentored by whoever was on shift. It worked out pretty well.