.

can I practice CEH v6 modules at home?

<<

firstbitdrv

Newbie
Newbie

Posts: 19

Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2010 2:03 pm

Post Mon Jun 14, 2010 2:07 pm

can I practice CEH v6 modules at home?

Hi,

I'm very new to EH, and I have good knowledge of networking, programming and RDBMS. I just want know if I can be able to practice and study all the 67 Modules, tools, at home or I need to be in a production environment?

I can create Labs using VMs, but I'm not sure that this is enough???
<<

Xen

User avatar

Sr. Member
Sr. Member

Posts: 386

Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2009 3:59 am

Post Mon Jun 14, 2010 3:30 pm

Re: can I practice CEH v6 modules at home?

Hello!
I haven't done CEH but from what I've read at the forums a lot of people pass CEH via self study. Not all the modules will be asked in the paper. Only the first 21 modules are required. You can check the following interview http://www.ethicalhacker.net/content/view/190/24/

You can also check other thread in the CEH sections
http://www.ethicalhacker.net/component/ ... ic,5137.0/
http://www.ethicalhacker.net/component/ ... ic,4941.0/
<<

firstbitdrv

Newbie
Newbie

Posts: 19

Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2010 2:03 pm

Post Mon Jun 14, 2010 3:50 pm

Re: can I practice CEH v6 modules at home?

thanks for ur reply, but iam talking about if i can practice the whole 67 modules at home or not  ???

I want to know if I can do it with my pc and maybe an additional laptop, i mean is that enough?
<<

UNIX

User avatar

Hero Member
Hero Member

Posts: 1244

Joined: Mon Apr 28, 2008 9:20 am

Post Tue Jun 15, 2010 1:17 am

Re: can I practice CEH v6 modules at home?

Yes, you can. For some modules you might need additional setup though.
<<

firstbitdrv

Newbie
Newbie

Posts: 19

Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2010 2:03 pm

Post Tue Jun 15, 2010 2:16 am

Re: can I practice CEH v6 modules at home?

Thanks for your reply, but could you tell me please what other setup I will be needing? you mean other hardware?
<<

UNIX

User avatar

Hero Member
Hero Member

Posts: 1244

Joined: Mon Apr 28, 2008 9:20 am

Post Tue Jun 15, 2010 2:30 am

Re: can I practice CEH v6 modules at home?

I meant such modules as GPS, Bluetooth, WLAN, etc. which might need additional setup, depending on your current hardware.

I'd recommend to just start at the beginning and work as far as you get.
<<

firstbitdrv

Newbie
Newbie

Posts: 19

Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2010 2:03 pm

Post Tue Jun 15, 2010 3:11 am

Re: can I practice CEH v6 modules at home?

My current setup is a powerful pc, laptop and a wireless router. That's all, ya I know that GPS module can't be done with my current hardware. Also I guess Hacking routers can't be done right? I guess I need a Cisco router for that, GNS3 can't do  ???
<<

rattis

User avatar

Hero Member
Hero Member

Posts: 1172

Joined: Mon Jul 27, 2009 1:25 pm

Post Tue Jun 15, 2010 11:22 am

Re: can I practice CEH v6 modules at home?

best places I found for cisco routers are Craig's List and Ebay. Lots of people buy used ones for home labs (I have 3 2500 series kicking around for a while I got off Ebay). You can get them fairly cheap depending on what you want / can afford.

GPS, there are some nice looking USB GPS units out there.
OSWP, Sec+

Return to CEH - Certified Ethical Hacker

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron
.
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group.
Designed by ST Software