Where to start?

<<

moren0g

Post Thu Apr 22, 2010 8:06 pm

Where to start?

Hello all I am very new to EH-NET and to the forums. I am doing alot of research now as the big corporate machine has decided to outsource the work I used to do overseas due to cheaper costs. I have been for the last 9 years working in a technical support role for ITV or interactive TV, supporting digital cable environments in the US and abroad. The environment I have been working is has been a Unix based environment supporting Linux and Solaris systems. I have a sound background in networking and operating systems working issues involving remote connectivity and operating system maintence. My goal now for a while has been to transition into IT Security.

My concerns right now seem to be where to start and how to take advantage of the experience and knowledge I currently have and use it to benefit IT Security. Prior to working in ITV I did NT support and managed numerous Compaq and IBM servers from a hardware and software perspective for a major Insurance company. I have been reading steadily the recommendations of many other forum entries regarding training and certs. Right now I posess and have had for years an A+ certification as well as certification as and MCSE in Windows NT4. I have been trying to certify in LPI during the wee hours in between support calls. I have been interested in GEAC certs but cost and time have prohibited me. I have seen and have been reading about http://www.elearnsecurity.com as well as the Live hacking site. I have materials to study for CEH but where to start to create the greatest opportunity to enter the IT Security field.

There seems to be alot of knowledgeable folks and I am looking for first some guidance on how to make use of my real world experiences in corporate environments and possibly some recommendation on which certs right now would allow me to migrate into an IT Security role.

Thanks to all in advance
<<

dynamik

Recruiters
Recruiters