What's next after OSCP?

<<

caissyd

Post Thu Feb 18, 2010 8:04 am

What's next after OSCP?

Hey,

I am currently starting OSCP, but I can't help but thinking about the future...

After GSEC, CEH and hopefully OSCP, where should I go next if my goal is to be a pentester?

OSCE, GPEN, CPTS, CPTE, other?

I am practicing a lot at home in my lab to gain as much experience as I can. Also, I pay all courses/certs myself.

I have been a web application developer/architect for 10 years now and I am currently re-orienting my career towards pentesting. I have spent the last year studying every single day! :P

Anyway, I am curious what you guys think I should do next.

Thanks
OSCP, GPEN, GWAPT, GSEC, CEH, CISSP
(aka H1t.M0nk3y)
<<

UNIX

Post Thu Feb 18, 2010 8:23 am

Re: What's next after OSCP?

Did you already apply for any specific job at a company which is doing pentests?
Certs are good to have and backup ones abilities, though you should try to get some real-world experience. Maybe you would also look for more broader job openings, such as systems engineer/ administrator, network engineer, etc., in order to get some experience there. To enter right into a pentesting company might be quite hard if you can't show anything but certs. Gaining experience in one of the mentioned jobs before might help therefore.

Also think about how you present your 10 year-experience in webapp dev. When you can include such things as a lot of experience towards sql injections, xss, etc. it might help too (if you have).

If you can't get into it at all, you can also look at voluntary work, participate in some projects (e.g. some security tools which involves some kind web-technology), start something on your own, etc.
<<

hayabusa

Post Thu Feb 18, 2010 8:58 am

I'd second awesec's comments, and really wouldn't have much additional to add, H1tM0nk3y.