Hey I'm new :P

<<

zeroflaw

Post Fri Feb 12, 2010 11:13 am

Hey I'm new :P

Hello guys,

Just thought I'd post here and introduce myself :P Well I'm 24 years old and I live in the Netherlands. I've always been fascinated by computers, technologies and weird theories such as time travel lol. I'm still at college because I skip any class that seems boring to me and generally don't pay much attention anyhow (maybe I'm a bit of an ADD person). So I failed a couple of times, oh well. I'm mostly interested in programming, security and a bit of networking (though I find CISCO classes very boring).

I started learning stuff about security about one year ago, bufferoverflows, sql injection etc. Feels like I've learned a lot, but there's still way too much that I don't even have a clue about. So I started looking into reverse engineering and cryptography, which will hopefully improve my chance of actually finding new security holes.

I've come to realize that I'm doing all the research and studying on my own and never actually talk about it with others. Maybe I should be part of a community or something, not sure :P Wanting to reach the next level and maybe someday make a living out of it.

ZF
ZF
<<

unsupported

Post Fri Feb 12, 2010 11:24 am

Re: Hey I'm new :P

Welcome aboard EH-net.  Keep at it, I know you will make your way out of college.  I dropped out after a few semesters the first time around because I still did not have direction.  After doing some growing up I am back in college and will graduate next year.  Woo!

I've been at this for a few years and there are still things I do not have a clue about.  Information security is so rich with different areas, but it sounds like you are on well on your way.  I feel it is important to know programming and networking before you move onto any deeper topics.