Difficulty of reverse engineering

<<

Neophyte

Post Thu Feb 04, 2010 1:41 pm

Difficulty of reverse engineering

I'm a "normal" programmer (oxymoron, I know).  I have no experience with hacking, but I need to get some information from some knowledgeable people on this subject.

I have a somewhat complex mathematical algorithm consisting of about 1000 lines of C++ code. If I compile and optimize it, how difficult will it be for someone else to reverse engineer it and discover how the algorithm works? Will it take a few days, or a few months, or a few years?

Any feedback will be greatly appreciated.

-k
<<

UNIX

Post Thu Feb 04, 2010 1:53 pm

Re: Difficulty of reverse engineering

Can you give more information? A sample program would be great too, so that interested people (such as myself :D) could take a look at it.
Without more information I would say a few hours - a few days.
<<

n0on3

Post Thu Feb 04, 2010 1:57 pm

Are you concerned about someone to understand how your algorithm works, or to get the actual (equivalent) code you wrote ?
From a technical point of view, you shall imagine someone with a debugger, that execute your program step-by-step and see the low level instructions as well as the changes to the data structures. The complexity of guessing how the algorithm works depends on your algorithm in this case.

Anyway I think you are more concerned about someone to use some automated process to de-compile your software and get your code or something equivalent. In that case you can consider to use some code-obfuscation technique.
<<

UNIX

Post Thu Feb 04, 2010 1:59 pm

Security through obscurity? Are you sure?
<<

n0on3

Post Thu Feb 04, 2010 2:23 pm

awesec wrote:Security through obscurity? Are you sure?

I'm not saying it's a solution, i'm saying it may help.
Even if it's true that you don't deny the activity, you may have the goal to raise its complexity to the point that it doesn't worth the effort.