CEH w/o taking the course

<<

bamed

Post Wed Jan 13, 2010 1:16 pm

CEH w/o taking the course

I'm looking at obtaining my CEH.  I've already got my OSCP.  I noticed on the EC-Council it says:
"If you have opted for self-study and not attended training, you must have at least two years of information security related experience."

Anybody know what counts as "security related experience."
I've been a sysadmin for 6+ years.  My job includes some security aspects such as managing the firewall, IDS, etc.  Would this count, or do I need more specific experience?
chown -R bamed ./base
<<

unsupported

Post Wed Jan 13, 2010 1:42 pm

Re: CEH w/o taking the course

You just need to submit a form (http://www.eccouncil.org/portals/0/docu ... n-Form.pdf) from your manager type person outlining your experience.  I had the requisite time, but I just outlined my duties and other certifications I had obtained.  Just be honest and see what happens.  I think having OSCP should be enough.
-Un
CISSP, GCIH, GCIA, C|EH, Sec+, Net+, MCP
<<

UNIX

Post Wed Jan 13, 2010 2:09 pm

I too would say that it counts - just write what you have done so far and see how things will go. As far as I know EC-Council is very accommodating, so there shouldn't be any problems.
<<

sandcrawler

Post Wed Jan 13, 2010 4:09 pm

I just got my CEH a couple weeks ago and I was in much the same situation as you...  My experience came from a small municipal government agency which I haven't worked at for a couple of years.  While I was there (8 years) I became primarily responsible for all aspects of security.  That included firewalls, IDS, antivirus, countermeasures and a small bit of forensic work, etc.  I just detailed this in brief and prefilled the form for my old supervisor.  She signed it and I faxed it to EC-Council.  If I remember correctly they responded in less than 8 hours with the code I needed to register for my exam.