Looking for pen test/red team career advice

<<

HotSoup

Post Tue Oct 13, 2009 9:06 pm

Looking for pen test/red team career advice

Well, I am a high school student from Kansas. I first became interested in security when I learned PHP. I eventually started learning how networking/the internet worked and really became interested in the security side of it. The "hacker mentality" really got me interested. The idea of hackers being the heroes was a new thought to me; I always thought they were the criminals and vandals. I am now very interested in red teaming/pen testing. Most of my skills now are in web apps, but I am familiar with C and C++. So ya, I am very interested in security (specifically red teaming), I love to learn, and I am sufficient in high level programming languages.

Does any one have any suggestions for colleges and/or military paths that will help start a career toward pen testing or red teaming?
<<

HotSoup

Post Tue Oct 13, 2009 9:28 pm

Re: Looking for pen test/red team career advice

Also some guidance on things before college would be useful. All the pc classes at my school are lame. Should I take classes at a college? Are there any conferences in particular that I should go to?
<<

Dengar13

Post Wed Oct 14, 2009 8:23 am

As far as the military route is concerned, I would go Air Force.  I joined the Marines because I needed a boot in my a$$.  They have better funding and resources as far as I am concerned.  You can also go to college after hours for free I believe so you can have a degree by the time you are done with your 4 year contract plus experience to boot.  You would also have a clearance that is good for several years after your 4 year term as well and that can open a LOT of doors.  If you choose the college route, I would ensure that they have a IT Security concentration.  Visit them and decide if it is a good fit for you.

It sounds like you are a very bright person who knows what they want....wish I did when I was your age.