Can the emails be tracked this way?

<<

ghosttrial

Post Thu Sep 17, 2009 1:28 pm

Can the emails be tracked this way?

hello everyone, first i'm a noob here so correct me if I wrong and if I post this topic in wrong place correct it for me too :D. I assumed that an email can be easily tracked down to find the computer that download it from the internet ( the way i see in film, novel etc). So I decide to play a small game with my friends (they are IT expert) to see if they can tracked down my computer by email (if you don't believe think whatever you want lol).
First I setup an email account that support POP3 service. Then I setup second email account that support download email from other POP3 email account (and let it download my mail here ofcourse). Now in the second account, I let it automatic forward all email to 3rd email account where I download email from to my computer (Gmail can do it if anyone have question).
Now can my friends track down my computer by sending me email to the first account? If he/she still can, how much does it cost he/she (time and event money) ?
<<

Ketchup

Post Thu Sep 17, 2009 2:59 pm

Re: Can the emails be tracked this way?

Welcome to the community. 

When you send an email message, it will likely travel through a server or two before it get to the recipient.  As the email goes from sender to server(s) to recipients, the header of the email gets updated with information containing dates, times, server addresses, etc.  Some email clients will track the user's computer that sent the email, some will not.  There is no standard.    Using this information, assuming the email headers were not forged, one can track who (IP Address) sent the email, what time it was sent, etc.  An IP address can be correlated to a physical address using information the ISP can provide.