CCE, CEH, or EnCase

<<

DeShaude

Post Mon Aug 24, 2009 10:10 am

CCE, CEH, or EnCase

Hello All,

First off, I just want to say I am glad I came across this forum and I thank everyone in advance for their help/advice.

I am a recent college grad (May 08) working as an IT Security consultant, and I am looking to start working my way into computer forensics. I wanted to know what certification would be best to start with? I do not have too much experience in forensics other than working a little bit with FTK in a classroom setting. Therefore, I am looking for a certification that is more of a mid-level and not to advance, since I am still wet behind the ears in the forensics area. More specifically, I am looking for an exam that is passable with little real world experience, and after taking a training course and applying one's self.

Some certifications I am considering are the CCE, CEH, and EnCase. I considered the C|HFI, but I have herd it doesnt not carry too much weight in the world of certifications.

Thank you for your help!
<<

DeShaude

Post Mon Aug 24, 2009 10:14 am

Re: CCE, CEH, or EnCase

FYI .... The only other certification I have right now is my Security+

Thank you  :)
<<

venom77

Post Mon Aug 24, 2009 10:45 am

If you want forensics, CEH is not the way to go (though it's a good entry into understanding hacking if you need that foundation).

The EnCase certification requires several years experience in the field if I remember correctly and I believe the CCE does as well.

Since you mentioned FTK, I would say to go that route. I'm pretty sure that there is no experience requirement (and they were offering the certification for free - search these forums).
<<

Ketchup

Post Mon Aug 24, 2009 11:14 am