Programming for Network Security analyst?

<<

scucci

Post Wed Jul 15, 2009 9:11 pm

Programming for Network Security analyst?

Hello Everyone,

I'm currently working as a security analyst that performs only network or system based security (OS, Firewalls, IPS, Anti-Virus, content filtering, encryption, etc.), but have no experience with programming or databases.  I read about many of these web vulnerabilities, but don't have the background to fully grasp them. My question is, in order to become a better security analyst what should I learn and where do I start? Right now I'm more interested in understanding vulnerabilities through web attacks if that helps. I'm very new to this side of security :)

Thanks
<<

UNIX

Post Thu Jul 16, 2009 12:27 am

Re: Programming for Network Security analyst?

If you are interested in web-security you may take a closer look at such topics as SQL Injection (SQL in general may help you too), Cross-site scripting (XSS) and Cross-Site Request Forgery (XSRF/ CSRF).

For testing I can recommend Damn Vulnerable Web App whos author is here in the boards too, WebGOAT and OWASP in general.
Also take a lookg at irongeek's Mutillidae and the Hacme series from Foundstone.
Last edited by UNIX on Thu Jul 16, 2009 12:32 am, edited 1 time in total.
<<

Ketchup

Post Thu Jul 16, 2009 7:21 am

Actually knowing SQL, both general, and RDBMS-specific will be a great plus here.  PHP, ASP, VB, JavaScript, etc, are all very beneficial if you are going to get into web app security.  If you have any programming background, I think these are all very easy to pick up, and rather quickly. 
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Ketchup
<<

scucci

Post Thu Jul 16, 2009 10:13 am