I can't see my computer from the Internet!

<<

Chococat

Post Sun Jul 05, 2009 11:08 am

I can't see my computer from the Internet!

I'm a newb, obviously, and I'm taking my first steps into the world of hacking, but I'm stuck. I'm trying to break into my own computer from a friend's but I believe my ISP has some sort of firewall up that makes identifying it impossible.

I ping my computer, but the request always times out, even though I know the computer is up and running. I use traceroute, but after 10 hops, I get back asterisks instead of valid hostnames.

I can connect to the computer using Yahoo and AIM to do picture / file sharing, etc... and when I do a netstat while connected, I can get my comps ip address, but other than that I can't port scan, use nbtstat... nothing.

What can I do to bypass this? Any help would be most appreciated. :D

Thanks!
<<

Ignatius

Post Sun Jul 05, 2009 12:46 pm

Re: I can't see my computer from the Internet!

How are you connected to the internet?  It's possible to configure an ADSL router not to respond to ICMP from the WAN port.
Last edited by Ignatius on Sun Jul 05, 2009 1:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.
<<

venom77

Post Sun Jul 05, 2009 1:37 pm

If you're on a residential connection, the traffic is probably filtered (at either or both ends).
<<

Chococat

Post Sun Jul 05, 2009 6:09 pm

I don't have any firewall on my pc. Neither hardware or software. When I do a traceroute, it stops responding with hostnames well before the final hop. I was hoping someone had an idea of how I could connect to it, because nothing seems to work.
<<

former33t

Post Sun Jul 05, 2009 9:01 pm