.

CCNA Security

<<

mohsinhafeez

Newbie
Newbie

Posts: 19

Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2009 9:37 am

Location: Bangalore

Post Sun Jun 28, 2009 4:17 am

CCNA Security

Hey people, my name is Mohsin Hafeez. I have completed CCNA, now pursuing CCNA Security. It requires the use of SDM ( Security Device Manager ) and a router. Well I dont have the money right now to buy a router. I studied CCNA on my own and did the labs successfully through a software called Boson Netsim, it helped alot and my CCNA exam went smoothly. It is a simulator for labs, for people who cannot afford home labs. So i was looking for something of that sort for CCNA Security. If anyone here knows anything about SDM please do share your knowledge with me. Thank You.
CCNA, MCP, CCIE Security Written, JNCIA(FWV/VPN)
<<

venom77

User avatar

Hero Member
Hero Member

Posts: 1905

Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2006 3:23 pm

Post Mon Jun 29, 2009 7:29 am

Re: CCNA Security

Have a look at GNS3 and see if it will do what you need:

http://www.gns3.net/

BillV
<<

UNIX

User avatar

Hero Member
Hero Member

Posts: 1244

Joined: Mon Apr 28, 2008 9:20 am

Post Tue Jun 30, 2009 12:20 am

Re: CCNA Security

Look at something like ebay.. there are often very cheap hardware devices to get (e.g. cisco routers). I bought many stuff for my homelab also from there and can't complain at all.
<<

real.whitehat

User avatar

Newbie
Newbie

Posts: 18

Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2007 5:50 am

Post Tue Jun 30, 2009 3:07 am

Re: CCNA Security

Hi
I already gone through GNS3, its graphical interface is really gud in compare of simulator like Boson Netsim. But I'll sugest you to go for Packet Tracer, its a Cisco product provided to those who attend CISCO training from Certified Training Partner, however non of these will help you to learn the things in depth but yes using these stuffs u can easily move from the basic to intermediate label of configuring  router and switches and w'll see how packets are processed by networking devices as they traverse the network.

If u dont hav Packet Tracer u can put ur mail id here so that I can send u one
<<

real.whitehat

User avatar

Newbie
Newbie

Posts: 18

Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2007 5:50 am

Post Tue Jun 30, 2009 3:19 am

Re: CCNA Security

If u r ready to spend some money to learn these things perfctly, vLab is the better option u hav then anything, with vLab u can practice on original Cisco Router using the scenario and Instruction by login into ur student account. note it down that this is not a kind of simulation program, here u will work on original cisco router remotely using your home PC & Internet.

http://www.elementk.com/products/virtual-labs
<<

real.whitehat

User avatar

Newbie
Newbie

Posts: 18

Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2007 5:50 am

Post Tue Jun 30, 2009 3:22 am

Re: CCNA Security

Try this interesting Cisco simulation product, i bet u'l enjoy lerning through it

http://www.packettracertrivia.com/
<<

lincoln

Newbie
Newbie

Posts: 13

Joined: Tue Jun 23, 2009 11:38 am

Post Tue Jun 30, 2009 5:18 pm

Re: CCNA Security

Here is a good emulator, just download the bin files and go

http://dynagen.org/
<<

mohsinhafeez

Newbie
Newbie

Posts: 19

Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2009 9:37 am

Location: Bangalore

Post Fri Jul 03, 2009 7:49 am

Re: CCNA Security

Thank You ALL! you guys ROCK! i am using GNS3, BILL V rocks! and now i am looking into Pakcet tracer. Thanks alot for sharing this information with me!
CCNA, MCP, CCIE Security Written, JNCIA(FWV/VPN)
<<

mohsinhafeez

Newbie
Newbie

Posts: 19

Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2009 9:37 am

Location: Bangalore

Post Fri Jul 03, 2009 12:12 pm

Re: CCNA Security

Hey, real.whitehat, can i use packet tracer to configure SDM??
CCNA, MCP, CCIE Security Written, JNCIA(FWV/VPN)
<<

Vedder

Newbie
Newbie

Posts: 26

Joined: Sun Feb 15, 2009 5:18 am

Post Sat Jul 04, 2009 6:47 am

Re: CCNA Security

Mohsin Hafeez wrote:Hey, real.whitehat, can i use packet tracer to configure SDM??

No, but you can use SDM in a demo mode.

Just google "SDM demo" and you'll find it quite easily.
C|EH, MCSE, MCSA: Security, Security+, Network+, A+
<<

real.whitehat

User avatar

Newbie
Newbie

Posts: 18

Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2007 5:50 am

Post Sun Jul 05, 2009 3:29 am

Re: CCNA Security

nop u cant use Packet Tracer for SDM, its gud with graphic only n no SDM integrationis thr.

Its better to use GNS3 for SDM as sugested by BillV.

or u can try this one:
http://cisco-egypt.com/upload/simulator ... lation.rar

Return to General Certification

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

.
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group.
Designed by ST Software