.

help with CEH-backtrack ?

<<

rebrov

User avatar

Full Member
Full Member

Posts: 130

Joined: Mon May 11, 2009 4:00 pm

Post Thu Jun 18, 2009 9:13 am

help with CEH-backtrack ?

i got the CEH-backtrack iso file from the CEH v6 course i opened it with Virtual pc and its working like charm but when i tried to install it to my HD something doesn't went wrong

1- when i follow the instruction of installing bt3 from over the net exactly some commands on shell doesn't obay dunno why espically the command that says

/boot/vmlinuz

i can't remember the exactly command but when i search over internet i find some guys spread commands and when im looking again i find another commands for installing bt3

question : how many partitions for installing bt3 ??

i have 2 : data & swap

but i found another one on net making 4 i think data & swap & boot & .....?

can't remember  the last one

and when i trying to do some commands while the installing process it fail cuz of it says the devide busy why is that ??

can plz some one post the exact the instructions for installing the CEH-backtrack

and how to unmount the dev first cuz i wanna create them from the beginning and when i trying to delete them is say dev busy can't delete oooof :S :(

thanks in advance
<<

viruz

Jr. Member
Jr. Member

Posts: 50

Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2009 9:08 pm

Post Thu Jun 18, 2009 11:14 am

Re: help with CEH-backtrack ?

to learn how to install backtrack it will be good if you visit there forum.

www.forum.remote-exploit.org
<<

UNIX

User avatar

Hero Member
Hero Member

Posts: 1244

Joined: Mon Apr 28, 2008 9:20 am

Post Thu Jun 18, 2009 11:17 am

Re: help with CEH-backtrack ?

<<

venom77

User avatar

Hero Member
Hero Member

Posts: 1905

Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2006 3:23 pm

Post Thu Jun 18, 2009 11:39 am

Re: help with CEH-backtrack ?

<<

the_Grinch

User avatar

Newbie
Newbie

Posts: 45

Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2009 4:24 pm

Post Thu Jun 18, 2009 12:41 pm

Re: help with CEH-backtrack ?

Why not just download the VMWare Images for BackTrack?  BT4 runs like a champ for me and all I had to do was download the VMWare Images....
BS-CST Security+

Blog:  http://havewire.blogspot.com/
<<

rebrov

User avatar

Full Member
Full Member

Posts: 130

Joined: Mon May 11, 2009 4:00 pm

Post Thu Jun 18, 2009 5:37 pm

Re: help with CEH-backtrack ?

BillV wrote:Or have a look at this thread.



look that man sorry i can't understand from him

i want to understand the part of creating the dual boot partitions :)

first how many partition ?

and how to create them with fdisk "commands"

and how many MB for each ?

details plz

cuz i think that the rest commands will be easy and after i umounted my hda3 dev that contain the ext3 when i tried to copy and mount it again it says the dev not found or not exist
<<

KamiCrazy

Jr. Member
Jr. Member

Posts: 78

Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2009 8:40 pm

Post Thu Jun 18, 2009 6:32 pm

Re: help with CEH-backtrack ?

I recommend building a backtrack 3 usb key. Its quite easy to do and it is a lot better than making a dual boot partition.
<<

viruz

Jr. Member
Jr. Member

Posts: 50

Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2009 9:08 pm

Post Thu Jun 18, 2009 8:51 pm

Re: help with CEH-backtrack ?

This should help you if you are installing backtrack 3


Boot BackTrack live from CD, DVD or USB device
Unmount the existing partitions, the BackTrack Live has automatically mounted them.

Code:

umount /dev/hda1

Run QTParted to resize the NTFS partition
KDE menu > System > QTParted
Resize sda1 to make free space for BackTrack and save changes. Exit QTParted.

Create Linux partitions for BackTrack
Code:

fdisk /dev/hda

Create a primary partition number hda2 name it linux
Create a primary partition number hda3 1 GB in size, this will be swap

Format the new partitions
Code:

mkfs.ext3 /dev/hda2
mkswap /dev/hda3
swapon /dev/hda3

Mount the new partitions so you can install BackTrack on them
Code:

bt ~ # mkdir /mnt/backtrack
bt ~ # mount /dev/hda2 /mnt/backtrack/
bt ~ # mkdir /mnt/backtrack/boot/
bt ~ # mount /dev/hda2 /mnt/backtrack/boot/

Install BackTrack files
Code:

bt ~ # cp --preserve -R /{bin,dev,home,pentest,root,usr,etc,lib,opt,sbin,var} /mnt/backtrack/
bt ~ # mkdir /mnt/backtrack/{mnt,proc,sys,tmp}
bt ~ # mount --bind /dev/ /mnt/backtrack/dev/
bt ~ # mount -t proc proc /mnt/backtrack/proc/
bt ~ # cp /boot/vmlinuz /mnt/backtrack/boot/

And lilo file
Code:

bt ~ # chroot /mnt/backtrack/ /bin/bash
bt / # nano /etc/lilo.conf

In nano change your lilo to look like this, especially do not forget to add the last 4 lines.

boot = /dev/hda
prompt
timeout = 1200
default =Windows
#bitmap=/boot/splash.bmp
change-rules
reset
#vga = 769,771/773/792
vga = 769
image = /boot/vmlinuz
root = current
label = BackTrack3

#Boot Windows
other = /dev/hda1
label = Windows
table = hda

Excellent. Save that and then execute lilo
Code:

bt / # lilo -v

after that exit your chroot enviorment
and reboot and cross your fingers
Code:

bt / # exit
bt ~ #reboot



FOR BT4, you can look at:

http://www.offensive-security.com/videos/install-backtrack-hard-disk/install-backtrack-hard-disk.html

OR

http://www.offensive-security.com/documentation/bt4install.pdf
Last edited by viruz on Thu Jun 18, 2009 9:04 pm, edited 1 time in total.
<<

UNIX

User avatar

Hero Member
Hero Member

Posts: 1244

Joined: Mon Apr 28, 2008 9:20 am

Post Fri Jun 19, 2009 12:03 am

Re: help with CEH-backtrack ?

@rebrov: As previously already said, you may take a look at the official forums from backtrack at remote-exploit as they will know best how to do things.

Something else which might interest you is their backtrack wiki which can be found at http://backtrack.offensive-security.com ... /Main_Page

(with how-to lists at http://backtrack.offensive-security.com/index.php/Howto ).

Another option would be as mentioned by the_Grinch to use vmware (player and server is free btw) and just download the vmware images.
<<

rebrov

User avatar

Full Member
Full Member

Posts: 130

Joined: Mon May 11, 2009 4:00 pm

Post Fri Jun 19, 2009 11:10 am

Re: help with CEH-backtrack ?

viruz wrote:This should help you if you are installing backtrack 3


Boot BackTrack live from CD, DVD or USB device
Unmount the existing partitions, the BackTrack Live has automatically mounted them.

Code:

umount /dev/hda1


Run QTParted to resize the NTFS partition
KDE menu > System > QTParted
Resize sda1 to make free space for BackTrack and save changes. Exit QTParted.

Create Linux partitions for BackTrack
Code:

fdisk /dev/hda

Create a primary partition number hda2 name it linux
Create a primary partition number hda3 1 GB in size, this will be swap

Format the new partitions
Code:

mkfs.ext3 /dev/hda2
mkswap /dev/hda3
swapon /dev/hda3

Mount the new partitions so you can install BackTrack on them
Code:

bt ~ # mkdir /mnt/backtrack
bt ~ # mount /dev/hda2 /mnt/backtrack/
bt ~ # mkdir /mnt/backtrack/boot/
bt ~ # mount /dev/hda2 /mnt/backtrack/boot/

Install BackTrack files
Code:

bt ~ # cp --preserve -R /{bin,dev,home,pentest,root,usr,etc,lib,opt,sbin,var} /mnt/backtrack/
bt ~ # mkdir /mnt/backtrack/{mnt,proc,sys,tmp}
bt ~ # mount --bind /dev/ /mnt/backtrack/dev/
bt ~ # mount -t proc proc /mnt/backtrack/proc/
bt ~ # cp /boot/vmlinuz /mnt/backtrack/boot/

And lilo file
Code:

bt ~ # chroot /mnt/backtrack/ /bin/bash
bt / # nano /etc/lilo.conf

In nano change your lilo to look like this, especially do not forget to add the last 4 lines.

boot = /dev/hda
prompt
timeout = 1200
default =Windows
#bitmap=/boot/splash.bmp
change-rules
reset
#vga = 769,771/773/792
vga = 769
image = /boot/vmlinuz
root = current
label = BackTrack3

#Boot Windows
other = /dev/hda1
label = Windows
table = hda

Excellent. Save that and then execute lilo
Code:

bt / # lilo -v

after that exit your chroot enviorment
and reboot and cross your fingers
Code:

bt / # exit
bt ~ #reboot



FOR BT4, you can look at:

http://www.offensive-security.com/videos/install-backtrack-hard-disk/install-backtrack-hard-disk.html

OR

http://www.offensive-security.com/documentation/bt4install.pdf




hey thanks really for this i already looked in offensive-security be4 but this is not the problem

question : how can i format the partition to make it new from the beginning cuz i unmounted it and created it from the beginning and the size N/A its and when im trying to do anything with it like  mkfs.ext3 /dev/hda2

it says that there's no hda2 for example although when i open qtparted i c it exist damn

i restarted my pc and i found it with size 2.7 GB again so wat i done useless i want to make no size to begin from the beginning but every time it return again should i delete it from partition magic or something ?

and why always when im doing this commands some commands not work

like cp /boot/vmlinuz /mnt/backtrack/boot/

no such file or directory :(
<<

rebrov

User avatar

Full Member
Full Member

Posts: 130

Joined: Mon May 11, 2009 4:00 pm

Post Fri Jun 19, 2009 11:14 am

Re: help with CEH-backtrack ?

question : CEH-backtrack wat ver ?? 3 or 4 ?
<<

venom77

User avatar

Hero Member
Hero Member

Posts: 1905

Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2006 3:23 pm

Post Fri Jun 19, 2009 11:47 am

Re: help with CEH-backtrack ?

Most likely v2.
<<

viruz

Jr. Member
Jr. Member

Posts: 50

Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2009 9:08 pm

Post Fri Jun 19, 2009 12:29 pm

Re: help with CEH-backtrack ?

you must be making a mistake somewhere along the line, make sure u type the commands correctly.

i used that for BT3 final. it can go for v2 also, what version are you trying to install, is it the bt3 or bt4 beta? some versions come with an installer, you can as well make use of it.
<<

rebrov

User avatar

Full Member
Full Member

Posts: 130

Joined: Mon May 11, 2009 4:00 pm

Post Fri Jun 19, 2009 2:19 pm

Re: help with CEH-backtrack ?

viruz wrote:you must be making a mistake somewhere along the line, make sure u type the commands correctly.

i used that for BT3 final. it can go for v2 also, what version are you trying to install, is it the bt3 or bt4 beta? some versions come with an installer, you can as well make use of it.


its CEH-BackTrack in the CEH v6 course dunno wat ver :S


and i do every command correct but my ext3 can't be formated when i did that with umount it first then format it i can't mount it again :) dunno wats going on
<<

viruz

Jr. Member
Jr. Member

Posts: 50

Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2009 9:08 pm

Post Fri Jun 19, 2009 7:30 pm

Re: help with CEH-backtrack ?

well i saw the backtrack in the inclusion of version 6 of the CEH, again i ask, what version of the  BT are u trying to install, maybe you hard disk partition is not HDA, some are SDA, you need to get that right, check if its HDA or SDA, that may be the cause of the error.
Next

Return to Network Pen Testing

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

.
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group.
Designed by ST Software