Scenerio

<<

r_mizell@hotmail.com

Post Sat May 09, 2009 3:24 am

Scenerio

Good morning guys

This may not be the right place for this but I have a couple of questions. I'm a newbie into forensics and in trying to learn what's going on I set up scenarios and play them out. Last night my task was, using HelixPro Live Response on XP system. As a first responder to find out what usb type of items were attached to the computer and when. As a first responder I would know to look around the area to find these devices. My questions are, is there a way to see what was copied to the usb devices, second, is there anything in the live responder to actually tell if the cd or dvd burner has been used and maybe the types of files copied also, so as a first responder I know if I need to look deeper into whats in the area of investigation. I believe in the Plan B logo that everything leaves a fingerprint and was hoping you guys might point me in the right direction.

Thanks

Rick
<<

Ketchup

Post Sat May 09, 2009 10:37 am

Re: Scenerio

Unfortunately you hit the question that's one of the most difficult to answer in an Intellectual Property case, "What did they take before the left the company?"  Yes, it's easy to go through the mounted devices registry key and determine what devices where plugged and what drive letters they occupied.  This is your first step.

The second step is to look at the LNK files on a Windows machine.  Look at the recently opened files, both in the Recent folder and MS Office Recent Files.  See if any of them are pointing to a drive letter occupied by your external devices.  If you find any, it does NOT tell you that something was copied by your suspect to the external drive.  All it tells you is that the files were on the device at some point.  It doesn't tell you how they got there.