What is the Best Version of Linux?

<<

Thegmandrive

Post Fri May 08, 2009 4:30 pm

What is the Best Version of Linux?

I am a noob, when it comes to linux. I'm somewhat familiar with Linux commands because I use many Unix packets with Mac Osx Terminal. However, I have been doing some research on the best distributions of Linux, and have come across no consensus.  From what I have read, it seems that the best version of "Linux" depends on what you want to use Linux for. For Pen testing, the word on the street is Backtrack is ONE of the best. I'm looking for some suggestions.

1. I need a Version of Linux that is easy to use and is a Windows replacement (Something that is an easy transition for the non technically inclined). I read that Fedora KDE is fairly popular, any thoughts?

2. A version of Linux that is a little more customizable for someone (like me), but is a good learning version as well. I read that GNU/Linux has a hardcore following :)

I read that Red Hat is a good version for businesses?

I have read many good things about Unbutu 

What do you think is the best version and why?

Thanks, I know this is a Noob question. :)
<<

Ketchup

Post Fri May 08, 2009 4:44 pm

Re: What is the Best Version of Linux?

Wow, that's a loaded question.  I can't tell you what's best for you.  You have to find out for yourself.  Here is what I can tell you from my experience.

I started with Slackware.  I wouldn't say that's a good distro for a beginner.  It is, however, very light and portable.

I then moved to Redhat and later Fedora.  Fedora is great in terms of ease of use.  It's very friendly to a Windows user.  I will say that it sucks in terms of its packager (what you use to load software and do upgrades, it's similar to add/remove programs and windows installer).