.

ALFA AWUS036H Issues !!!

<<

Dark_Knight

User avatar

Sr. Member
Sr. Member

Posts: 294

Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2008 7:03 pm

Post Mon Apr 13, 2009 9:17 pm

ALFA AWUS036H Issues !!!

I am running the ALFA AWUS036H on BT4 and I am able to crack WEP etc. However I cannot connect to my AP. I get the following:

Error for wireless request "Set ESSID" (8B1A) :
    SET failed on device wlan0 ; Operation not supported.

I have searched for the error over at remote-exploit and tried the suggestions without success. Any ideas?
CEH, OSCP, GPEN, GWAPT, GCIA
http://sector876.blogspot.com
<<

Ketchup

User avatar

Hero Member
Hero Member

Posts: 1021

Joined: Fri Jul 04, 2008 7:44 pm

Location: Philadelphia, PA

Post Mon Apr 13, 2009 10:00 pm

Re: ALFA AWUS036H Issues !!!

Did you taken your card out of monitor mode and switch to managed mode when you tried to connect to the ESSID?  If not, try that.   

iwconfig <wifi card> mode managed

If that doesn't work, try this:

wlanconfig ath0 destroy
wlanconfig ath0 create wlandev wifi0 wlanmode managed
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Ketchup
<<

Dark_Knight

User avatar

Sr. Member
Sr. Member

Posts: 294

Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2008 7:03 pm

Post Mon Apr 13, 2009 10:15 pm

Re: ALFA AWUS036H Issues !!!

# iwconfig
lo        no wireless extensions.

eth0      no wireless extensions.

wmaster0  no wireless extensions.

wlan0    IEEE 802.11bg  Mode:Monitor  Frequency:2.442 GHz  Tx-Power=27 dBm
          Retry min limit:7  RTS thr:off  Fragment thr=2352 B
          Encryption key:off
          Power Management:off
          Link Quality:0  Signal level:0  Noise level:0
          Rx invalid nwid:0  Rx invalid crypt:0  Rx invalid frag:0
          Tx excessive retries:0  Invalid misc:0  Missed beacon:0

# iwconfig wlan0 mode managed
Error for wireless request "Set Mode" (8B06) :
    SET failed on device wlan0 ; Device or resource busy.

wlanconfig wlan0 destroy
wlanconfig: ioctl: Operation not supported
CEH, OSCP, GPEN, GWAPT, GCIA
http://sector876.blogspot.com
<<

Ketchup

User avatar

Hero Member
Hero Member

Posts: 1021

Joined: Fri Jul 04, 2008 7:44 pm

Location: Philadelphia, PA

Post Tue Apr 14, 2009 7:16 am

Re: ALFA AWUS036H Issues !!!

When you get a busy status from the card, is something else running?   Do you still have kismet, airodump-ng, or anything else running that would be using monitor mode?   What driver does the card use?   Is it rtl8187?
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Ketchup
<<

Dark_Knight

User avatar

Sr. Member
Sr. Member

Posts: 294

Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2008 7:03 pm

Post Tue Apr 14, 2009 12:27 pm

Re: ALFA AWUS036H Issues !!!

I am using the rtl8187 drivers. Now that you mention it I may have been using airmon when I tried to connect. I will try again.

Thanks for the help. Appreciate it..........
CEH, OSCP, GPEN, GWAPT, GCIA
http://sector876.blogspot.com
<<

Kev

Sr. Member
Sr. Member

Posts: 428

Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2007 12:26 pm

Post Tue Apr 14, 2009 9:06 pm

Re: ALFA AWUS036H Issues !!!

The networkmanager on BT4 is buggy with certain cards.  You would be better off just using Ubuntu 8.10 and build your tools. You might as well since they are both building from Debian now. The ALFA card works straight out of the box with Ubuntu 8.10 and that includes connecting to wpa. 
Last edited by Kev on Tue Apr 14, 2009 9:09 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Return to Wireless

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

.
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group.
Designed by ST Software