A quick question

<<

kjung

Post Thu Apr 02, 2009 5:38 pm

A quick question

I have been contemplating making a career change in the near future(I'm a carpenter) and the computer security field has always interested me. My main concern is financial. When I can get schooling and a few beginner certs out of the way, is the income enough to support a wife and kid? I make around 30k a year now, and for my standard of living it is fine. Will the income at the start be at least close to that? I live in Texas if that makes a difference.
<<

kjung

Post Thu Apr 02, 2009 5:42 pm

Re: A quick question

Ok, make that two quick questions. What would be the best path to take to get my foot in the door? I've been reading here and elsewhere about the different certifications, but I'm not sure about what exactly I would need to start working in the field. Any help is appreciated more than you know.
<<

venom77

Post Thu Apr 02, 2009 5:56 pm

What kind of computer background do you have now? What interests you most about computers/computer security?

My suggestion would be to work on a few of the entry-level, general concept certifications first so you can get an entry position into the field. You obviously can't jump to the top right away, everyone has to start somewhere.

My suggestion would be to look into the following certifications:

CompTIA A+ : IT Technician
CompTIA Network+
CompTIA Security+

Microsoft Desktop Support Technician

The nice thing about the MCDST is that you can also get free training through Microsofts online eLearning.