.

not static?

<<

RoNNie_13

Newbie
Newbie

Posts: 5

Joined: Thu Nov 27, 2008 7:19 pm

Post Sat Nov 29, 2008 10:17 am

not static?

Can i run a server(forward ports) without having a static ip?Is there any program(freeware or precracked that can be updated) for it?
<<

venom77

User avatar

Hero Member
Hero Member

Posts: 1905

Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2006 3:23 pm

Post Sat Nov 29, 2008 10:23 am

Re: not static?

Yes, though typically against your ISPs Terms of Service...

Check out Dynamic DNS.

BillV
<<

jason

User avatar

Hero Member
Hero Member

Posts: 1013

Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2008 6:23 pm

Location: USA

Post Sat Nov 29, 2008 11:01 am

Re: not static?

Some ISPs even go as far as to block traffic to common ports, such as 80.
<<

RoNNie_13

Newbie
Newbie

Posts: 5

Joined: Thu Nov 27, 2008 7:19 pm

Post Sat Nov 29, 2008 11:05 am

Re: not static?

Any other suggestion?
<<

jason

User avatar

Hero Member
Hero Member

Posts: 1013

Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2008 6:23 pm

Location: USA

Post Sat Nov 29, 2008 11:13 am

Re: not static?

Depending on what exactly you're serving, you might be able to find a cheap or free hosting service.
<<

RoleReversal

User avatar

Hero Member
Hero Member

Posts: 928

Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2008 8:54 am

Location: UK

Post Sun Nov 30, 2008 5:17 am

Re: not static?

Also depends on your ISP, but you may be provided with a static address if you call support and ask for one. I know of a few in the UK that operate like that.
<<

jason

User avatar

Hero Member
Hero Member

Posts: 1013

Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2008 6:23 pm

Location: USA

Post Sun Nov 30, 2008 9:40 am

Re: not static?

Yup, several here will do that as well for a small extra fee. Be careful hosting from your own connection though. You may be painting a bit of a target on yourself, depending on what it is.
<<

RoNNie_13

Newbie
Newbie

Posts: 5

Joined: Thu Nov 27, 2008 7:19 pm

Post Mon Dec 01, 2008 4:39 pm

Re: not static?

I don't want to pay  >:(.Maybe i'll change it to static.
<<

don

User avatar

Administrator
Administrator

Posts: 4226

Joined: Sun Aug 28, 2005 10:47 pm

Location: Chicago

Post Tue Dec 09, 2008 12:38 pm

Re: not static?

Try this article. Although it comes from the mindset of setting up MS Small Business Server, it still covers all the basics of setting up servers with dynamic IP addresses, costs, etc. Modify for your needs.

http://mitchgarvis.com/blogs/mitch/arch ... dress.aspx

Hope it helps,
Don
CISSP, MCSE, CSTA, Security+ SME
<<

morpheus063

User avatar

Sr. Member
Sr. Member

Posts: 393

Joined: Sun Jun 25, 2006 10:08 am

Location: Cochin - India

Post Tue Dec 09, 2008 9:51 pm

Re: not static?

Hey RoNNie,

The following link provides a brief introduction about how Dyn DNS works and a list of Dynamic DNS providers . Some of them are free, some charge a minimal rate:

Link 1
Link 2
Link 3

Hope this helps.
Manu Zacharia
MVP (Enterprise Security), ISLA-2010 (ISC)², C|EH, C|HFI, CCNA, MCP,
Certified ISO 27001:2005 Lead Auditor

[b]There are 3 roads to spoil; women, gambling & hacking. The most pleasant with women, the quickest with gambling, but the surest is hacking - c0c0n

Return to Programming

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

.
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group.
Designed by ST Software