Using Assembly to access locked files

<<

Ketchup

Post Thu Nov 20, 2008 11:28 pm

Using Assembly to access locked files

Hey all,

Pardon my Assembly ignorance.  I am wondering if you can use Assembly language to access files locked for exclusive access by Windows.  For example, can I use Assembly to gain read access to Index.dat or the Swap File?  I am not entirely sure how you go about doing this since Windows locks files based on their Handles.  Since Assembly has lower level access, I am wondering if there are way to circumvent file locks.  Anyone have experience with this?

Numerous hex editors have circumvent file locks by reconstructing the file system on the fly.  I wonder if there is an easier way.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Ketchup
<<

NickFnord

Post Fri Nov 21, 2008 6:24 am

Re: Using Assembly to access locked files

Ketchup wrote: Since Assembly has lower level access,

I'm a relative newbie at assembly language programming also, so I'm not going to try to answer your main question, but I'm really curious as to why you think assembly has "lower level access" than any other programming language, and what that exactly means.

seeing as all compiled languages all end up running as machine code which can be directly translated into assembly language, you should be able to do most things with most languages, writing assembly just gives you a finer level of control. 

anyway, just thoughts.
<<

Ketchup

Post Fri Nov 21, 2008 9:38 am

Well, like I said, I am an Assembly n00b.  Perhaps I phrased this wrong.  I believe that Assembly doesn't use file handles for I/O operation.  If I can access NTFS directly through Assembly, I may be able to bypass Windows file locking APIs.  NTFS doesn't lock files, Windows does it through File Handles.  Does this make more sense?
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Ketchup
<<

geekyone

Post Fri Nov 21, 2008 4:59 pm

*Caveat* I am not an Assembly guru by any stretch of the imagination.