UK Data Protection Act

<<

RoleReversal

Post Fri Nov 14, 2008 7:07 am

UK Data Protection Act

<Disclaimer: I am not a lawyer>

It's been a long running saga, but the changes to the UK's Data Protection Act are now in force. Similar to the changes in German legislation, the creation, modification or supply of any tool or information that could result in unauthorised access to a computer is now explicitly illegal in the UK.

On top of the standard, and already well argued, debate concerning dual-use tools such as nmap, wireshark et. al. It has been suggested that the act could even go so far as making vulnerability research and disclosure illegal, even if no code or tools are developed. Think I better be careful what I post to EH-Net from now on.

When the good guys can't play the game, the bad guys will win by default.
<<

jason

Post Fri Nov 14, 2008 9:25 am

Re: UK Data Protection Act

Well obviously this will prevent the bad guys from getting ahold of the tools, so the good guys won't *need* to have access to them any more.
<<

NickFnord

Post Fri Nov 14, 2008 11:38 am

just had a quick read of the actual statute, and to my relief there are "intent" clauses.

I am also NOT a lawyer, but having spent a while in the hobby lockpicking community I've done a bit of research on posession of locksmith tools etc.  These laws vary greatly depending on where you go, but in a majority of places, posession and distribution of lockpicks is only illegal if the intent to use to commit an offence is there.  i.e. if you are caught carrying picks, the court would take into account surrounding evidence - if you are a known hobby picker or have a locksmith licence it is considered not-illegal, however if you are caught at 2am at someone elses backdoor, then intent becomes an issue.  the same goes for non-specific tools - carry a screwdriver?  not a problem.  carry a screwdriver at 2am behind someone else's house?  intent rules in these cases.