career in computer forensics

<<

scucci

Post Thu Oct 02, 2008 4:01 pm

career in computer forensics

I'm very new to computer forensics and I've been looking into learning as much as I can over the next few months. I'm currently working as an IT Security Analyst and wanted to know what information, books or certifications are suggested.

Thanks,

Scucci
<<

dalepearson

Post Thu Oct 02, 2008 4:16 pm

Re: career in computer forensics

I think it depends on the tools you will use.
I studied the EnCE as EnCase was the tool I used at work when I used to do forensics.
<<

$w33p3R

Post Thu Oct 02, 2008 4:31 pm

scucci wrote:I'm very new to computer forensics and I've been looking into learning as much as I can over the next few months. I'm currently working as an IT Security Analyst and wanted to know what information, books or certifications are suggested.

Thanks,

Scucci

You might check out the ECFI (EC-Council Certified Forensics Investigator) courses.  It seems to fit along the lines of what you describe you are looking for.
MCP, CEH
<<

venom77

Post Thu Oct 02, 2008 6:44 pm

$w33p3R wrote:ECFI (EC-Council Certified Forensics Investigator) courses.

* CHFI - Computer Hacking Forensic Investigator ;)

BillV
<<

Ketchup

Post Thu Oct 02, 2008 11:48 pm

I have to be honest, there is a lot of bias in the computer forensics industry.  Consulting companies prefer to hire ex-law-enforcement for forensics positions.  I can certainly understand why.  While you can go to EnCase or FTK training, you don't pick up investigative experience in the process. Cops and Feds always begin as regular agents / detectives before they become computer forensics investigators.