Vmware, or Practicing Pentesting

<<

brianW85428

Post Mon Sep 15, 2008 9:11 pm

Vmware, or Practicing Pentesting

Hello everyone!
First i want to say thank everyone that helps me out!

Second i wanna say that i have a very basic knowledge in hacking, I know most hacking terms, Your not talking to a noob here  :)

Okay so here is my question,
I wanna know what everyone setup is,
I suppose that everyone is running Vmware or something,
But what do you use to hack with, and what do you use to practice the pentesting on?

Like Windows --> Windows or
Linux --> Windows

And if your hacking Windows, what type of windows and what service pack?
Thank you for your replies in advance  ;D

<xHack^Wright>
<<

LSOChris

Post Mon Sep 15, 2008 10:22 pm

Re: Vmware, or Practicing Pentesting

both...all...whatever

linux to linux, linux to windows, windows to linux, windows to windos...etc
<<

NickFnord

Post Tue Sep 16, 2008 8:22 am

Your enthusiasm is really great, but your question is very much like asking: "Hi all - I want to learn how to drive, what does everyone use?  SUV's or hybrids, and what type of fuel?"

And the answer that has already been given is akin to: "What you drive and the type of fuel you use is entirely irrelevant to the task of getting somewhere in a vehicle"

What operating system you use is particularly irrelevant when you're trying to find or exploit a vulnerability in a remote system (which most of the time is what you would try to do), because it only matters what is running on that system and so long as the tool that you're using to do it works, then it doesn't matter what operating system you're running. And besides, due to VM tools you can essentially pick whatever you prefer anyway.

Take this article on writing windows buffer overflows in this particular case, the author used a windows box running VMware, but it could just have easily been done from a linux box running VMware or a separate physical machine could have been used just as easily.