using backtrack as a daily use linux distro

<<

shakuni

Post Thu Sep 11, 2008 8:09 am

using backtrack as a daily use linux distro

Hi everyone,

Can I use backtrack as a daily use linux distro. I mean I am a part time network security researcher (cause I am a full time malware analyst) and backtract is a full fledged linux distro, so is it a must that it should be used only for pentesting? Can't it be used in daily tasks...

what I intend to do is that I will install "only" BT3 on my laptop and I'll use it as a general linux distro in the day and as a security toolkit in the night ;)

Please express your opinion on the concept...

Thanks
shakuni
There is no rule, law or tradition that apply universally... including this one.
<<

RoleReversal

Post Thu Sep 11, 2008 8:43 am

Re: using backtrack as a daily use linux distro

Shakuni,

I'd agree mostly. Backtrack should be able to be used as daily distro. But from personal experience I have found it doesn't work out that way and I've gone back to using a 'normal' Linux install with my goodies on a daily basis whilst keeping a BT usb stick around for those times when I can't afford to mess around with a tool compilation in the middle of a incident.

As you say you're a full time malware analyst your mileage may vary, good luck
<<

jakx

Post Thu Sep 11, 2008 9:19 am

I used backtrack 2 for a little while as a everyday OS and i did not seem to have too many problems. I was not doing a whole lot outside of pentesting though. I guess it really just depends on what you want to be doing. I now have switched to just the BT usb like RoleReversal but its up to you.

Try it and if you dont like it switch back.  :)
<<

vijay2

Post Thu Sep 11, 2008 10:18 am

I use BT 3 running on a VM most of the time :)

VJ
GPEN GCFA GCIH CISSP CISA GSEC OSCP C|EH Security+
<<

Kev

Post Thu Sep 11, 2008 10:25 am