entry-level or intermediate

<<

unicityd

Post Thu Sep 04, 2008 5:05 pm

entry-level or intermediate

I'm planning to start applying for some security jobs soon and I'm hoping for a little advice.  I have never had a full-time security job, but I have had security responsibilities and would (ideally) like to land an intermediate-level position. 

Is this possible, or do I need to put in some time in an entry-level position first?

My justification for wanting to do this is that I think my technical skills are much more in line with an intermediate-level position.

I have 6 years of full-time experience in networking, programming, and IT management.  My responsibilities have included managing an IDS and performing product security testing.

I'm Security+ certified and plan to pickup the C|EH soon.  I've taken Foundstone's Ultimate Hacking: Expert course.

I've published several articles (in print) on buffer overflows and other security topics and have also contributed to several Wikipedia articles.  I can write exploits and shellcode and can use advanced techniques to bypass StackGuard, PointGuard, no-exec, ProPolice, etc.  I can also find and exploit other vulnerabilities such as as SQL injection and XSS.  About eight years ago, I reported several vulnerabilities on Bugtraq.  I spoke at Defcon around the same time. 

I know TCP/IP really well and have spent hundreds of hours analzying traffic with tcpdump, Ethereal, Wireshark, and Snort.  I've created a lot of custom traffic (for product security testing) using Hping2, Packit, Nmap, fragroute, and my own protocol fuzzers .  One of my work projects required me to analyze and qualify signatures for Snort and the Cisco IDS.  I documented dozens of the signatures in the Snort project.