.

gateway p6831fx 8 gb of RAM

<<

El33tsamurai

User avatar

Full Member
Full Member

Posts: 219

Joined: Sat Feb 03, 2007 4:01 pm

Post Tue Jul 08, 2008 10:28 am

gateway p6831fx 8 gb of RAM

Does anyone have a gateway p6831fx and gotten 8 BG of RAM to work on it?  I was reading and saw that the Intel 965 chipset is based on 36 bit technology, and can support up to 8 gigs. I am trying to make my laptop into a VM best so I can setup a couple VM's on it for a ethical hacking lab :).
CCENT, A+, Network+, Security+
<<

jason

User avatar

Hero Member
Hero Member

Posts: 1013

Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2008 6:23 pm

Location: USA

Post Sat Jul 12, 2008 11:16 pm

Re: gateway p6831fx 8 gb of RAM

You might check the model out at kingston.com and see what they say is the maximum amount of ram supported.
<<

Ketchup

User avatar

Hero Member
Hero Member

Posts: 1021

Joined: Fri Jul 04, 2008 7:44 pm

Location: Philadelphia, PA

Post Sat Jul 12, 2008 11:21 pm

Re: gateway p6831fx 8 gb of RAM

Stupid question, but you are running x64 on it, right?
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Ketchup
<<

El33tsamurai

User avatar

Full Member
Full Member

Posts: 219

Joined: Sat Feb 03, 2007 4:01 pm

Post Mon Jul 14, 2008 1:21 pm

Re: gateway p6831fx 8 gb of RAM

yeah :) so so fast, they all say that 4 gigs is max but if you go to Intels web site says its based on the 36 bit not 32 bit so it can use 8 gigs
Last edited by El33tsamurai on Mon Jul 14, 2008 1:35 pm, edited 1 time in total.
CCENT, A+, Network+, Security+

Return to Other

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

.
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group.
Designed by ST Software