Security+ Study Guide

<<

SynJunkie

Post Sat Jun 07, 2008 4:29 am

Security+ Study Guide

Hi

I'm currently studying for the CISSP but I would like to take the Security+ beforehand to make sure i'm on the right track.  Has anyone taken the Security+ recently and if so could you recommend a study guide?  There are many on Amazon but the reviews are quite poor.

Many thanks.

Syn
----------------------------------
http://synjunkie.blogspot.com
<<

pjayes

Post Sat Jun 07, 2008 6:26 am

Re: Security+ Study Guide

This site http://www.certification-crazy.net/security+.htm
this has a ton of good study guides and practice questions, im using it my self to pass the exam.

good luck
pjayes
<<

Dengar13

Post Sat Jun 07, 2008 8:36 am

Well SynJunkie...looks like we are in the same boat because that is what I am doing currently as well.

I am using the Exam Cram Book to study and it has been great so far.  When do you intend on taking the Sec+ exam?
A+, Net+, MCP, CEH
MCSE: Security/Messaging
MCSA: Security/Messaging
Former U.S. Marine and damn proud of it!
<<

SynJunkie

Post Sat Jun 07, 2008 9:42 am

Dengar13

I have a holiday coming up, so my plan is to study as much as possible and take it in the next 8 weeks.  I have a pretty good idea of the types of questions and I think after a week or 2 of good studying I'll be ready.  I've been taking some of the practice tests at cccure.org for the CISSP and i'm averaging about 90% on the domains I have studied so far so hopefully i'll do okay.  Following the Security+ i'll get my head back in the CISSP study guide.
----------------------------------
http://synjunkie.blogspot.com
<<

oneeyedcarmen

Post Mon Jun 09, 2008 7:44 am

If you've got a lot of studying done for the CISSP, and seem to be getting it, you shouldn't have much trouble with the Sec+.

It's basically a watered down version of the CISSP, though it may have a few more technical questions on it.  At least such was the case when I took them both a year ago.